- Student Guides
- Journal Articles and Databases
Chemistry: Journal Articles and Databases
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Try one of these key databases for your subject:
- Reaxys (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry.
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowThis resource gives access to the electronic version of Chemical Abstracts. In order to access this database you need to register first. Click through to access the instructions.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowDigital Library of papers published by the American Chemical Society. Includes archival access to all titles back to 1879.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Publications Online (RSC) This link opens in a new windowProvides fulltext access to the journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Timespan: 1841-. to RSC Journals Archive (1841-2004). UCD also has access to over 700 ebooks published between 1968 and 2008.
- Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a website that provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.
- ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowAn extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
- SpringerLINK This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink provides access to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reference works and protocols from a wide range of academic disciplines. Includes Open Access content.
- Books and eBooks
- Journal Articles and Databases
- Key Websites
- Citing Information and Avoiding Plagiarism
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Mar 10, 2023 9:23 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/chemistry
- Print Page