Skip to Main Content

Education: Books & eBooks

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful education resources.

Finding Books using OneSearch

Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:

Books for Education

Academic Complete

A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page

Sage Knowledge

Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.

The Bloomsbury Handbook of Global Education and Learning

Terms such as global learning, global citizenship and global education can be seen within national education policies and international initiatives led by the UN, UNESCO, European Commission and OECD. The Bloomsbury Handbook of Global Education and Learning brings together the main elements of the debates, provides analysis of policies, and suggests new directions for research in these areas.

Education and the State

In most countries in the world, school education is the business of the state. Even if forms and functions differ, the imparting of elementary knowledge is universally regarded as a public function. Yet this is neither self-evident nor self-explanatory. The degree of involvement of state agencies in the supervision, financing and organization of the school system sometimes varies so much that the usual assumption of a common understanding of the state seems to be an illusion. Making international comparisons and focusing on the historical conditions of the current form of state education, this volume paints a picture of how the relationship between education and state has been and is conceptualized.

Play in the Early Years

Play is crucial to the learning and development of children in the early years. The third edition of Play in the Early Years is a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of play for children from birth to 8 years old. Drawing on classical and contemporary theories, this text examines social, cultural and institutional approaches to play, and explores a range of strategies for successfully integrating play into early years settings and primary classrooms. This edition features a new chapter on conceptual playworlds, which demonstrates what conceptual playworlds look like to infants and toddlers, pre-schoolers, and children transitioning into school.

Inclusive education for the 21st century : theory, policy and practice

Inclusive Education for the 21st Century provides a rigorous overview of the foundational principles of inclusive education, and the barriers to access and participation. It explores evidence-based strategies to support diverse learners, including specific changes in curriculum, pedagogy and assessment practices, and the use of data. It addresses the needs of children with physical, sensory and intellectual disabilities, as well as those with complex learning profiles, including mental health issues. With chapters from leading experts from Australia and the UK, Inclusive Education for the 21st Century addresses common issues in both primary and secondary schools.

The Bloomsbury Handbook of Reading Perspectives and Practices

The Bloomsbury Handbook of Reading Perspectives and Practices focuses on the experiences of reading from a young age to maturity and the different ways reading is encountered: in other words, the processes involved as well as the outcomes. The international group of experts, within both teaching and academia, focuses on reading in school: how is it taught? What is taught? How is it assessed? Controversial issues are explored: the acquisition of phonics; teaching the canon, including or ignoring digital texts; the advent of standards-based tests. The contributions also consider people's biographies of reading, their memories of reading in school and their current views on literature. Together, this well-edited volume provides a more complete view of reading than is currently on offer, exploring all aspects of what it means to be literate and how we define being literate.

Curriculum Reform Within Policy and Practice

This book explores how curriculum reform is interconnected with policy, practice and society. Curriculum reform is increasingly associated with efforts to better the lives of citizens and provide a competitive edge to national prosperity. Educational policy and practice have been the subject of unprecedented convergence worldwide in the quest for so-called 21st century skills. This book offers a case study of curriculum reform within the Republic of Ireland, focusing on antecedents, processes and outcomes of government efforts to evoke fundamental curriculum realignment at lower secondary level. Set against a backdrop of fluctuating economic fortunes and concerns about academic standards and educational equity, this volume has wider relevance beyond Ireland for any system undertaking education reform at scale.

Hannah Arendt on Educational Thinking and Practice in Dark Times

In her renowned and provocative essay, The Crisis in Education, Hannah Arendt observed that a 'crisis becomes a disaster only when we respond to it with preformed judgements, that is, with prejudices'. Taken as a whole, Arendt's work provides an enduring provocation to think and to make judgements about education and the issues that impact on it, such as political, economic and cultural disruption and uncertainty. Drawing together the leading thinkers on Arendtian ideas and education, this collection explores the role and promise education can have in preparing the future generation to understand, to think about and to act within the world. Concluding the same essay on the crisis in education, Arendt declared education to be the point at which love for the world meets love for those who are newcomers to it. The authors respond to Arendt's call for responsibility and authority in education, providing a leading edge thinking, analysis and agenda setting for public education systems and the world in dark times.

Education Research

Education Research: The Basics discusses key ideas about the nature and purpose of education research: what it can and cannot achieve, how it has been used in the past and where and how it has an impact. The Basics provides accessible support for those studying education as a subject, for practitioners concerned with developing their practice and for anyone who wants to know more about education and how it is researched.

Reinventing Pedagogy of the Oppressed

Since its publication in 1968 Paulo Freire's Pedagogy of the Oppressed has maintained its relevance well into the 21st century. This book showcases the multitude of ways in which Freire's most celebrated work is being reinvented by contemporary, educators, activists, teachers, and researchers. The chapters cover topics such as: spirituality, teacher identity and education, critical race theory, post-truth, academic tenure, prison education, LGBTQ educators, critical pedagogy, posthumanism and indigenous education. There are also chapters which explore Freire's work in relation to W.E.B Du Bois, Myles Horton, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Simone de Beauvoir. Written by leading first and second-generation Freirean scholars, the book includes a foreword by Ira Shor and an afterword by Antonia Darder.

The Rediscovery of Teaching

The Rediscovery of Teaching presents the innovative claim that teaching does not necessarily have to be perceived as an act of control but can be understood and configured as a way of activating possibilities for students to exist as subjects. In conversation with the works of Emmanuel Levinas, Paulo Freire, Jacques Rancière, and other theorists, Gert Biesta shows how students' existence as subjects hinges on the creation of existential possibilities, through which students can assert their "grown-up" place in the world. Written for researchers and students in the areas of philosophy of education, educational theory, curriculum theory, teaching, and teacher education, The Rediscovery of Teaching demonstrates the important role of teachers and teaching in the project of education as emancipation towards grown-up ways of being in the world.

Reference Works for Education

Sage Knowledge

Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies. 4

This four-volume encyclopedia covers a wide range of themes and topics, including: Social constructions of childhood, Children's rights, Politics/representations/geographies, Child-specific research methods, Histories of childhood/Transnational childhoods, Sociology/anthropology of childhood theories and Theorists key concepts. This interdisciplinary encyclopedia will be of interest to students and researchers in: Childhood studies, Sociology/Anthropology, Psychology/Education, Social Welfare, Cultural studies/Gender studies/Disabilty studies.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

This second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001,discusses history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education

The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education is a single-volume work, arranged alphabetically and comprising around 600 entries. The entries range from definitions of key educational concepts and terms to biographies of key educators and specially written substantial essays on major educational topics. The volume includes critical commentary on historical and contemporary themes; examinations of continuities, changes and emerging issues; and discussions of the educational traditions and features of major countries and continents.

The Routledge International Handbook of Critical Education

The Routledge International Handbook of Critical Education is the first reference work to provide an international analysis of the relationship between power, knowledge, education, and schooling. Rather than focusing solely on questions of how we teach efficiently and effectively, contributors to this volume push further to also think critically about education's relationship to economic, political, and cultural power.

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration

The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas and histories on educational leadership and school. With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners and association officials, the two-volumes of this Encyclopedia represent a comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration.

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology

The Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development, all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an educational setting, from pre-school through to adult education.

Gender and Education

The Handbook of Gender and Education brings together leading scholars on gender and education to provide a comprehensive overview of different theoretical positions on equity issues in schools. The contributions cover all sectors of education from early years to higher education; curriculum subjects; methodological and theoretical perspectives; and gender identities in education. Each chapter reviews, synthesises and provides a critical interrogation of key contemporary themes in education.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology

Leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning is certainly not new. But with more low-cost, easy-to-use, easily accessible devices and systems than ever before, we are at a critical inflection point where we must decide how technology powers and aids learning in the classroom. It's issues like this that are explored within the pages of this new Encyclopedia. A collection of 300-350 entries that are organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes available in a choice of print or electronic formats. Entries, authored by key figures in the field, conclude with cross references and further readings.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods

This Encyclopedia provides readers with essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Organized alphabetically, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques. Readers are directed to related topics via cross-referenced terms that appear in small capital letters. By assembling entries of varied origins and serving different research purposes, readers will be able to benefit from this immense source of methodological expertise in advancing their understanding of research.

The Palgrave International Handbook on Adult and Lifelong Education and Learning

This Handbook provides a wide-ranging frame of reference for researching adult and lifelong education and learning. With contributions from established and newer scholars from six continents, the volume covers a diverse range of geopolitical and social territories across the world.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It includes the Dictionary of Education, which provides definitions for the terms that anyone studying education or working in the field is likely to encounter.