Skip to Main Content

Education: Journal Articles & Databases

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful education resources.

Some Key Journals for Education

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Search for a Journal Title

Not seeing a searchbox? Click here

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals

Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:

Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals

Pick your subject for a full list of databases

 

Key Databases for Education

ERIC

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

ERIC International

ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC International also includes the Australian Education Index.

British Education Index

The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Was formerly part of the ERIC International Database.

Education Index with Full Text

Education Index includes full-text coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks.

JSTOR

Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Web of Science

This multidisciplinary research platform lets users search numerous databases simultaneously via one interface.

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Try this first

You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.