Education: Government & EU Information

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful education resources.

What are Official Publications?

UCD Library provides access to a range of official publications. These are documents and reports produced and published by official bodies, such as governments, national institutions and regional and international organisations

Offical Publications and the European Documentation Centre (EDC)

This Collection is held on Level 4 of the James Joyce Library. A retrieval service operates during service hours. Call to the Information Desk on Level 2 to submit a request.

The collection contains material from the Irish, British and US governments; European Union (EU); International Labour Organization (ILO); International Monetary Fund (IMF); OECD, United Nations (UN);UNESCO and World Bank

See here for further information.

Useful Resources

Central Statistics Office
Hosts databases including StatBank; Census of Population, Agriculture and several other public sector areas.
Includes statistical databases from International Organizations such as Eurostat, ECB, OECD, UNECE, UNSC, & IMF.
Department of Education and Skills Publications
Includes education reports, policy reports, school inspection reports and syllabuses.
European Commission Education Portal
Provides information on the range of educational and training opportunities available throughout Europe, as well as access to educational materials created by EU-funded projects
Higher Education Authority
The Higher Education Authority is the statutory planning and policy development body for higher education and research in Ireland. Includes publications, policies and statistics.
Irish Government Website
Website, maintained by the Irish Government, which contains information and links relating to the Irish State
Irish Social Science Data Archive (ISSDA)
Surveys included are Growing up in Ireland; Opinion Poll data; Cross National Comparative Data, Social and Political Attitudes Survey, NCPP Employee Attitudes Survey, Irish National Election Study, Ageism and Ageing, Eurostudent and Attitudes to Disability

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. Formerly SourceOECD, the platform comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.