- Student Guides
- History & Archives
- Journal Articles & Databases
History & Archives: Journal Articles & Databases
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Key Databases for History & Archives
Databases allow you to search across a range of different journals, books and other publications for information on a specific topic. Databases contain peer-reviewed, scholarly material. Links to the full-text will be provided, where available, by UCD Library.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography (RIA) This link opens in a new windowThe Dictionary of Irish Biography is Ireland's national biographical dictionary. Devised, researched, written and edited under the auspices of the Royal Irish Academy, its online edition covers nearly 11,000 lives. It describes and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- ProQuest U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowProQuest U.K. Parliamentary Papers includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. It includes the 18th century (1688-1834), 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session), 21st century module 1 (2004/05, 2009/10 sessions), and Hansard (1803-2005) collections.
- International Medieval Bibliography (Brepols) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range 450 to 1500, and includes articles (from both journals and miscellanies, e.g. Festschriften), review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature. The geographical range comprises the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-VII, XI-XII; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences Collection.
- LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThis database currently abstracts and indexes over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles
Watch a short tutorial on how to search for information on a subject in JSTOR:
If you you are having trouble viewing this video try this alternative link.
JSTOR: Search for articles
Finding a journal article using OneSearch
- Last Updated: Feb 26, 2023 2:41 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/history
- Print Page