History & Archives: Newspapers

Information on books, journals, databases and other useful history & archive resources.

Why Newspapers?

Newspapers are very useful for identifying key trends, reviewing analysis of specific issues and tracing original research. They also provide a wealth of primary source material for scholarly research in many subject areas. UCD Library holds an extensive range of regional, national and international newspapers.

Further information on our Newspaper collections can be found here.

Newspaper Collections for History & Archives

Useful Newspaper resources for History & Archives include:

British Library Newspapers (Gale)
UCD Library provides access to Part I: 1800-1900 and Part VI: Ireland, 1783-1950. The former provides access to 47 regional and local British newspapers from the 19th century and aims to offer a broader perspective than the London-centric national press by highlighting diverse regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars. Part VI: Ireland 1783-1950 is a collection of newspapers published in Ireland and is an invaluable resource for researchers interested in Irish history, offering a deep dive into the social, political, and cultural landscape of Ireland during that period.
Current Digest of the Russian Press (EastView)
The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly the Current Digest of the (Post-)Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal. Coverage: 1949-2024.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.

European Library Historic Newspapers
Browse or search the full-text of European historic newspapers from 23 countries across Europe. An excellent route to primary source material.

Irish Newspapers Archives
Digital archive of over six million Irish national, regional and historical newspapers.
Irish Times (1995 - ) (Proquest)
A full-text newspaper article database containing articles published in the Irish Times from 1995 to present. Full-text articles only, excludes images.
Irish Times (1859-2022) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Contains the Irish Times Digital Archive - a fully searchable archive which includes every page published since the newspapers foundation in 1859. Coverage: 1859-2022.
Nexis Advance UK
Nexis Advance UK provides full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. For academic use only.