- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Humanitarian Action
- Journals & Databases
Humanitarian Action: Journals & Databases
Refugees, displacement, disasters, migration, human rights
Search by Title for eJournals or Databases
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
eJournals Key Titles
Research Methods Print Reference Works
Designing Qualitative Research by
Providing a comprehensive guide to devising an effective research design, Uwe Flick discusses each stage of the process of designing qualitative research in detail, including formulating a research design, selecting an appropriate strategy, conceptual framework and data source, and collecting and analyzing data.
Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 300.723 SAGISBN: 9780761949763Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Doing Interviews by
Interviewing is an invaluable tool for the qualitative researcher. Steinar Kvale provides coverage of both the theoretical background and the practical aspects of the interview process, incorporating discussion of the wide variety of methods in interview based research and the different approaches to reading the data. Consideration is also given to the crucial issue of how to ensure scientific rigour.
Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 300.723 SAGISBN: 9780761949770Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Managing Quality in Qualitative Research by
'Flick's argumentation in this book is convincing. It provides a good overview of the problems of quality assessment in qualitative research and makes constructive suggestions about how to deal with them' - Thomas S. Eberle, University of St Gallen, Switzerland. The issue of quality in qualitative research is one that is often neglected. In Managing Quality in Qualitative Research attention is given to the fundamental question of how to define and assess the quality of research. Uwe Flick examines how to distinguish good research from bad research when it comes to teaching, planning, evaluating and publishing qualitative research.
Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 300.723 SAG/FISBN: 9780761949824Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Analysing Qualitative Data by
Outlining how to select the most appropriate tool for analyzing data, Analysing Qualitative Data also provides the reader with an awareness of the various challenges that are unique to interpreting the conceptual and subjective data generated in qualitative research.
Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 300.723 SAGISBN: 9780761949800Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Key Databases
Academic Publishers' Multidisciplinary Databases
- Explore these core databases in your discipline via the links below or via our Library Catalogue or OneSearch :-
- Cambridge University Press Journals (CUP) This link opens in a new windowAn extensive multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access all archival journals and primary source collections.
- Oxford Academic Journals (OUP) This link opens in a new windowThis resource consists of online journals from arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThis resource consists of online journals from arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines.
- SAGE Research Methods Core Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students from all disciplines with their research projects.
- ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.
- SpringerLINK This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink provides access to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reference works and protocols from a wide range of academic disciplines. Includes Open Access content.
- Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis is a leading publisher in all areas of the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine sectors. IReL provides access to the SSH collection, while UCD Library funds the STM collection. Open Access titles are also available on the platform.
- Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a website that provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowAn extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
Social Sciences Abstracts & Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. It includes academic journals, magazines, trade journals and indexing and abstracts of publications including ebooks, reports and conference proceedings.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowApplied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently abstracts over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. This database is particularly useful for research at the intersections between social science and health information.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.
- EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe American Economic Association's electronic bibliography, EconLit, indexes more than thirty years of economics literature from around the world. EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. Formerly SourceOECD, the platform comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
- Social Services Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
- Violence & Abuse Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new windowWorld Development Indicators Online, published by the World Bank, is a comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Over 1,700+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.
Research Methods Migration / Development / Politics
Social research methods : qualitative and quantitative approachesCall Number: James Joyce, Short Loan Collection 300.72 NEUISBN: 9780205786831
Handbook of Research Methods in Migration by
Covering both qualitative and quantitative topics, the expert contributors in this Handbook explore fundamental issues of scientific logic, methodology and methods, through to practical applications of different techniques and approaches in migration research.
Call Number: James Joyce, General 305.8072 VARISBN: 9781849803113Publication Date: 2012-05-30
Political Science Research Methods by
Comprehensive methods text provides readers with the ideal gateway to understanding both the 'how' and the 'why' behind research into politics.
Call Number: James Joyce, General 320.072 JOHISBN: 1608716899Publication Date: 2011-11-21
Doing Development Research by
Doing Development Research is a comprehensive introduction to research in development studies that provides thorough training for anyone carrying out research in developing countries. It brings together experts with extensive experience of overseas research, presenting an interdisciplinary guide to the core methodologies. Informed by years of research experience, this book draws together many strands of action research and participatory methods, demonstrating their diverse applications and showing how they interrelate. Doing Development Research is the essential A-Z of development research.
Call Number: James Joyce, Development Studies 300.723 DESISBN: 9781412902847Publication Date: 2006-03-29
Research Methods Print Reference Works
The Essential Guide to Doing Research by
Companion Web Site: http://www.sagepub.co.uk/resources/oleary/oleary.htm The Essential Guide to Doing Research is a comprehensive, practical, and engaging guide to understanding and embarking upon social science research. By adopting a clear and accessible approach, Zina O'Leary encourages students to think about, and engage with, every aspect of the research process. The book stresses that all good research should be seen as a process of constantly assessing one's work and making decisions about the best possible means for obtaining credible data and results. The Essential Guide to Doing Research is therefore designed to encourage lateral, strategic and creative thinking, while providing essential knowledge and skills to students and researchers. Key features of the text include: - coverage of all aspects of doing research, from research design to implementation and dissemination - an emphasis on the creative and strategic thinking skills needed to negotiate the research process - extensive use of figures and diagrams to illustrate key points and to create clarity - chapter previews and summaries; and encouragement for the reader to think for themselves about the best research methods that are suited to their research project This is a clear and inspiring book. It is a must for both undergraduates and postgraduate researchers embarking on, or already involved in, a research project across the social sciences.
Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 300.72 OLEISBN: 0761941983Publication Date: 2004-06-09
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by
"This defining work will be valuable to readers and researchers in social sciences and humanities at all academic levels. As a teaching resource it will be useful to instructors and students alike and will become a standard reference source. Essential for general and academic collections." --CHOICE This Encyclopedia provides readers with authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Organized alphabetically, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques. Written to be accessible to general readers, the Encyclopedia entries do not require advanced knowledge of mathematics or statistics to understand the purposes or basic principles of any of the methods. To accomplish this goal, there are two major types of entries: definitions consisting of a paragraph or two to provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays that discuss the nature, history, applications, and implications of using a certain method, including suggested readings and references. Readers are directed to related topics via cross-referenced terms that appear in small capital letters. By assembling entries of varied origins and serving different research purposes, readers will be able to benefit from this immense source of methodological expertise in advancing their understanding of research. With three volumes and more than 900 signed entries, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods will be a critical addition to any social science library.
Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 300.72 SAGISBN: 0761923632Publication Date: 2003-12-15
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License