Information & Communication Studies: Books & eBooks
Information about books, journals, databases, offical publications and other useful information and communication studies resources.
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Books for Information & Communication Studies
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. You can also browse the collection to find books for your research. The relevant shelf marks include, but are not limited to:
- 020 Library and Information Sciences
- 021 Relationships of libraries, archives, information centers
- 022 Administration of physical plant
- 023 Personnel management (Human resource management)
- 025 Operations of libraries, archives, information centers
- 026 Libraries, archives, information centers devoted to specific subjects
- 027 General libraries, archives, information centers
- 028 Reading and use of other information media
A selection of useful book titles available via UCD Library include:
Data Science in the Library by Publication Date: 2022While there is a growing literature that explores the technical details of data science and the growing methodological concerns, there have been few works that explore how these changes are influencing the work of library and information specialists and faculty.
Conversations with Leading Academic and Research Library Directors by Publication Date: 2018The book offers insight, analysis, and personal anecdote from leaders in the library field, giving a unique perspective on how the modern library operates. Readers will learn about the most up-to-date trends and practices in the LIS profession from the directors of 24 internationally acclaimed academic and research libraries in Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, and the UK and USA.
The Atlas of New Librarianship by Publication Date: 2016R. David Lankes offers a guide to this new landscape for practitioners. He describes a new librarianship based not on books and artifacts but on knowledge and learning; and he suggests a new mission for librarians- to improve society through facilitating knowledge creation in their communities.
Being evidence based in library and information practice by Call Number: 020.72 KOOPublication Date: 2016This book builds a research-grounded, theoretical foundation for evidence based library and information practice and illustrates how librarians can incorporate the principles to make more informed decisions in the workplace. The book takes an open and encompassing approach to exploring evidence based library and information practice (EBLIP) and the ways it can improve the practice of librarianship.
Developing Librarian Competencies for the Digital Age by Publication Date: 2016Librarianship is both an art and a science. Librarians study the science of information and how to work with clients to help them find solutions to their information needs. They also learn quickly that there is an art to working with people, to finding the answers to tough questions using the resources available and knowing which information resources to use to find the information being sought in short order.
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful ebook titles and ebook databases available via UCD Library include:
The academic teaching librarian's handbook by Publication Date: 2021The Academic Teaching Librarian's Handbook is a comprehensive resource for academic library professionals and LIS students looking to pursue a teaching role in their work and to develop this aspect of their professional lives in a holistic way throughout their careers. The book is built around the core ideas of reflective self-development and informed awareness of one's personal professional landscape.
Bold minds : library leadership in a time of disruption by Publication Date: 2020Bold Minds: Library leadership in a time of disruption brings together international leaders who frame many aspects of the current library provision and who carry responsibility for the library models of the future to consider how librarians and libraries can be a driving force in a time of disruptive economic, technological and cultural change.
Foundations of Library and Information Science by Publication Date: 2020Spanning all types of libraries, from public to academic, school, and special, this book illuminates the major facets of LIS for students as well as current professionals.
Informed societies : why information literacy matters for citizenship, participation and democracy by Publication Date: 2020This book explains how and why information literacy can help to foster critical thinking and discerning attitudes, enabling citizens to play an informed role in society and its democratic processes. In early 21st century societies, individuals and organisations are deluged with information, particularly online information.
LGBTQ Visibility, Media and Sexuality in Ireland by Publication Date: 2020This book traces the turbulent history of queer visibility in the Irish media to explore the processes by which a regionally based media system shaped queer identities within a highly conservative and religious population. The book details the emergence of an LGBTQ rights movement in Ireland and charts how this burgeoning movement utilised the media for the liberatory potential of advancing LGBTQ rights.
Practical data science for information professionals by Publication Date: 2020Practical Data Science for Information Professionals provides an accessible introduction to a potentially complex field, providing readers with an overview of data science and a framework for its application. It provides detailed examples and analysis on real data sets to explore the basics of the subject in three principle areas: clustering and social network analysis; predictions and forecasts; and text analysis and mining.
Transformative Library and Information Work by Publication Date: 2020Intended to be an accessible guide to transformational information work, the book collects approximately thirty brief case studies of information related organizations, initiatives, and/or projects that focus on social justice related activities. Each case is a short narrative account of its particular subject's history, objectives, accomplishments, and challenges faced.
Gender Hate Online by Publication Date: 2019Gender Hate Online addresses the dynamic nature of misogyny: how it travels, what technological and cultural affordances support or obstruct this and what impact reappropriated expressions of misogyny have in other cultures. It adds significantly to an emergent body of scholarship on this topic by bringing together a variety of theoretical approaches, while also including reflections on the past, present, and future of feminism and its interconnections with technologies and media.
The Role of the Electronic Resources Librarian by Publication Date: 2019The Role of the Electronic Resources Librarian focuses on longstanding hurdles to the transition of libraries from print collections, to online information services, all from an Electronic Resources Librarian (ERL) perspective. Problems covered include cost containment for electronic serials, web design, discovery, customer service, efficiency, and adapting organizations to the needs of contemporary users.
Apostles of Certainty by Publication Date: 2018From data-rich infographics to 140 character tweets and activist cell phone photos taken at political protests, 21st century journalism is awash in new ways to report, display, and distribute the news. Computational journalism, in particular, has been the object of recent scholarly and industry attention as large datasets, powerful algorithms, and growing technological capacity at news organizations seemingly empower journalists and editors to report the news in creative ways.
Digital Detectives by Publication Date: 2016Digital Detectives: Solving Information Dilemmas in an Online World helps students become independent and confident digital detectives, giving them the tools and tactics they need to critically scrutinize web-based digital information to ascertain its authenticity, veracity, and authority, and to use the information in a discerning way to successfully complete academic tasks. Enabling students to select and use information appropriately empowers them to function at a higher level of digital information fluency, acting as discerning consumers of, and effective contributors to, web-based information.
The Invisible Librarian by Publication Date: 2015The Invisible Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Increasing Visibility and Impact provides insights into what many librarians are feeling, including questions such as "do they feel invisible?" and "How many times have they heard somebody say 'but everything is on the Internet'?" If you are a librarian struggling to find the best strategy for the future of the profession in a rapidly changing information environment, this book is for you.
The New Information Literacy Instruction by Publication Date: 2015The new ACRL information literacy concepts brings renewed interest in information literacy instruction and skills for librarians. The New Information Literacy Instruction: Best Practices offers guidance in planning for and implementing information literacy instruction programs in a wide range of instructional situations. As librarians take a new look at information literacy instruction, this essential book will help guide you in creating and maintaining a quality instruction program.
Information Literacy Beyond Library 2.0 by Publication Date: 2012This book offers practical strategies for all library and information practitioners and policy makers with responsibility for developing and delivering information literacy programmes to their users. This new book picks up where the best-selling Information Literacy meets Library 2.0 left off.
Sorting things out: Classification and its consequences by Publication Date: 1999In Sorting Things Out, Geoffrey C. Bowker and Susan Leigh Star explore the role of categories and standards in shaping the modern world. The authors emphasize the role of invisibility in the process by which classification orders human interaction. They examine how categories are made and kept invisible, and how people can change this invisibility when necessary. They also explore systems of classification as part of the built information environment.
- ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.
- Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page
- Synthesis Collection of Technology (Springer) This link opens in a new windowThe Synthesis Collection of Technology provides coverage of leading edge topics across the fields of Engineering and Computer Science. Formerly published by Morgan & Claypool, UCD Library has access to 50 lectures published between 2008-2010.
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information
Useful online reference material for Information & Communication Studies include:
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences (Taylor & Francis) This link opens in a new windowComposed of the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and exploring the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries, this major reference presents hundreds of entries extensively reviewed for accuracy. Containing more than 70 percent new material, this edition also includes classic articles of historical or theoretical importance from prior editions.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. (source: UNESCO)
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- DLISTThe Digital Library of Information Science and Technology (DLIST) archive is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Digital Curation, Museum Informatics, records management and other critical information infrastructures.
- e-LISEstablished in 2003, e-LIS is an international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS), including Communication. It has grown thanks to a team of volunteer editors that support 22 languages. The development of an international network has been stimulated by the extension of the Open Access concept to works and facilitated by the dissemination of material within the LIS community.
- MerlotThe MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
Connect With Us!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License