Information & Communication Studies: Journal Articles & Databases

Information about books, journals, databases, offical publications and other useful information and communication studies resources.

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals

Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:

Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals

Pick your subject for a full list of databases

Journals, Databases, Bibliographies & Citations

The list below is a selection of relevant journal titles accessible through UCD subscriptions. Be sure to log in to the 'Online Tools' when accessing these resources off campus.

Below is a list of the key databases for research that are accessible through UCD subscriptions. Be sure to log in to the 'Online Tools' when accessing these resources off campus.

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of serial, non-serial and hard to find conference literature in computer science and related fields.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to ejournals covering the fields of business, management, economics, engineering, computing, technology and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access all archival journals and primary source collections.
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
This database currently abstracts and indexes over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more.
ScienceDirect All Access ebooks (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. UCD's subscription to the All Access ebook package includes access to over 37,000 ebooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, and textbooks. A full title list of the textbooks is available at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/book-title-lists.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a website that provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.

Bibliographies and Citations are excellent tools to assist your search for relevant journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings and other resources that you may not find by direct searching.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OUP) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature. The platform also provides access to SciVal (access to SciVal requires registration, and is limited to on-campus only).
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.

JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles

Watch a short tutorial on how to search for information on a subject in JSTOR:

If you you are having trouble viewing this video try this alternative link.