- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Law
- Books & eBooks
Law: Books & eBooks
This guide provides a starting point for resources in Law.
Useful Books for Law
Reference Books for Law
A Dictionary of Law by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE (also available in print James Joyce Reference)ISBN: 9780192897497Publication Date: 2022
New Legal Books in the Library
European Union Law by Call Number: 341.2422 BARISBN: 9780192863836Publication Date: 2023Also available in Law Trove as an ebook see databases in the Online Tools page
EU Competition Law by Call Number: 341.753 JONISBN: 0192855018Publication Date: 2023Also available in Law Trove as an ebook. Go to databases from the online tools page and search for Law Trove Oxford University Press
Highlighted Books
How to think write and cite. Key Skills for Irish Law Students by Call Number: 340.071141 SCHISBN: 9780414056558Publication Date: 2016
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Call Number: 340 DICISBN: 9780314199492Publication Date: 2009-06-25
Murdoch and Hunt's Encyclopedia of Irish Law by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781780438955Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Ebook Databases
- Academic CompleteA multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access.
- Bloomsbury Professional Online This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Professional Online gives you unlimited access to books, looseleafs and journals across a range of practice areas. Includes access to leading titles in each area, written by respected authors in their field, up-to-date legal and tax commentary and analysis, alongside updates in cases, legislation and precedents.
- Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new windowA globally respected academic publisher of eBooks from across the humanities and social sciences. UCD Library purchases select titles to support online teaching and research across a range of subjects. The platform also includes Open Access eBooks.
- Brill eBooks This link opens in a new windowBrill’s publications focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences. UCD Library purchases select titles to support teaching, learning and research. The platform also includes Open Access eBooks.
- Gale ebooks (Gale Research Complete) This link opens in a new windowThe Gale ebooks platform provides searchable ebook versions of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a wide range of subjects, including arts & humanities, biography, business, health sciences, history, social sciences, and natural sciences.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowA single destination platform with eBooks purchased by UCD Library in science, technology, engineering, medicine, the humanities and social science.
Key Textbooks for Law
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:
Principles of Irish Law by Call Number: James Joyce, General 340.09415 DOO Long LoanISBN: 9780717149896Publication Date: 2011
Torts in Ireland by Call Number: James Joyce, 346.03 QUI Multiple copies and loan periodsISBN: 0717145751Publication Date: 2009
An Introduction to Irish Family Law by Call Number: James Joyce, General 346.015 NES Long LoanISBN: 0717149773Publication Date: 2011
Criminal Law by Call Number: James Joyce, General 345.415 MCI, All loan periodsISBN: 9781858002521Publication Date: 2012
Repealing The 8th by
Available Open Access under CC-BY licence. Irish law currently permits abortion only where the life of the pregnant woman is at risk. Since 1983, the 8th Amendment to the Constitution has recognised the "unborn" as having a right to life equal to that of the "mother". Consequently, most people in Ireland who wish to bring their pregnancies to an end either import the abortion pill illegally, travel abroad to access abortion, or continue with the pregnancy against their will. Now, however, there are signs of change. A constitutional referendum will be held in 2018, after which it will be possible to reimagine, redesign, and reform the law on abortion. Written by experts in the field, this book draws on experience from other countries, as well as experiences of maternal medical care in Ireland, to call for a feminist, woman-centered, and rights-based radical new approach to abortion law in Ireland. Directly challenging grounds-based abortion law, this accessible guide brings together feminist analysis, comparative research, human rights law, and political awareness to propose a new constitutional and legislative settlement on reproductive autonomy in Ireland. It offers practical proposals for policymakers and advocates, including model legislation, making it an essential campaigning tool leading up to the referendum.
ISBN: 9781447347545Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Constitutional Law of Ireland by
Since the previous edition of this book, changes have taken place with Articles of the Constitution; challenges to articles; referenda; new legislation and cases judicially considered. This new edition is almost complete re-written as a result of the tumultuous changes in Irish Constitutional Law. Dr Forde, an accomplished constitutional law author and practitioner, offers the reader everything they need to know in this complex subject. EURO PRICE- 130
ISBN: 1847667384Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Law of Torts by
The eagerly awaited new edition of this title is the complete Irish tort law reference book. The text has been revised extensively since the last edition was published in 2000. Key developments are detailed and relevant recent case law is examined. This book will be used extensively by both legal practitioners and people studying Irish law. EURO- 165
ISBN: 9781847669179Publication Date: 2013-06-30
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License