Law: Newspapers

This guide provides a starting point for resources in Law.

Why Newspapers?

Newspapers are very useful for identifying key trends, reviewing analysis of specific issues and tracing original research. They also provide a wealth of primary source material for scholarly research in many subject areas. UCD Library holds an extensive range of regional, national and international newspapers.

Further information on our Newspaper collections can be found here.

Newspaper Collections

Nexis Advance UK
Nexis Advance UK provides full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. For academic use only.
Irish Times (1995 - ) (Proquest)
A full-text newspaper article database containing articles published in the Irish Times from 1995 to present. Full-text articles only, excludes images.
Irish Times (1859-2022) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Contains the Irish Times Digital Archive - a fully searchable archive which includes every page published since the newspapers foundation in 1859. Coverage: 1859-2022.
Irish Newspapers Archives
Digital archive of over six million Irish national, regional and historical newspapers.
19th Century British Library Newspapers Part 1 (Gale)
A collection of national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule are also included, in addition to Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes.
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.