Sports and Exercise Management: Journal Articles and Databases

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Sports and Exercise Management resources

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals

Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:

Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals

Pick your subject for a full list of databases

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Try this first

You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

Key Databases

Try one of these key databases for your subject:

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers sport, physical fitness, and physical education. Indexes the practical and research literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance. Records for journal/magazine articles, web sites, unpublished research, dissertations, books, proceedings, and audiovisual material. International and interdisciplinary coverage.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. It includes academic journals, magazines, trade journals and indexing and abstracts of publications including ebooks, reports and conference proceedings.
Sports Medicine and Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides specialized, editorially curated A&I resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
ABI/INFORM Global (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of online resources covering many aspects of business studies, including industry conditions, company and financial information, management techniques, business trends, marketing, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.