- Explore Collections
- UCD Library Collection Spotlight
- It's Revision Time!
UCD Library Collection Spotlight: It's Revision Time!
Now that revision time is here, you may want to spend a little while with one or two of our study and exam skills titles, a selection of which are on display in the James Joyce Spotlight area on Level 1. You will find many of these titles in the Study Skills Collection available in our libraries - in James Joyce Library this collection is in Library Hub.
Student Advisors | Student Health Service | Chaplaincy | Student Counselling | Students' Union
Key Tips from UCDSU - look out for 2016 updates!
1. Write a to-do list and take things one task at a time. Being able to tick things off your list gives a great sense of accomplishment and will keep you motivated to reach your goals.
2. TAKE A BREAK. Go to training, go for a walk, eat some fruit, drink water, and just give your brain and body a chance to recharge.
3. Download ColdTurkey.com or similar apps and temporarily block social media and games while you study.
4. Eat well; pressure and stress from exams can turn even the healthiest people towards junk food and irregular eating habits. Try to
eat regularly and healthily; apples and bananas are great energising snacks and drinking water will keep you hydrated. We all need the odd Redbull now and again, but try not to over do it, one a day folks!
5. Sleep! Staying up very late and getting up early may make you feel productive, but the quality of work you produce will suffer. Aim for 7-8 hours of sleep a night, you’ll wake feeling energised and ready to go.
Some Exam Titles
- How to Succeed in Exams and Assessments by Jonathan Weyers; Kathleen McMillanCall Number: Available at all sites 371.26 MCMISBN: 9780273726906Publication Date: 2010This book provides everything students will need to prepare for and perform well in all types of university assessment and examination.
- The Student's Guide to Exam Success by Eileen TracyCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 378.17028 TRAISBN: 9780335220489Publication Date: 2006Students will perform better in exams if they have the necessary emotional resources in the run-up. This guide offers advice on developing emotional strength in response to the increasingly heavy demands that are made on students in the modern world.
- The Student's Guide to Passing Exams by Richard BurnsCall Number: Richview, General 371.3 BURISBN: 0749422475Publication Date: 1997In a lively style, this text shows how anyone can improve their chances of exam success by following a few simple rules.
- The Exam Skills Handbook by Stella CottrellCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 371.26 COTISBN: 9780230358546Publication Date: 2012Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies.
- Study skills & exam essentials by Orla Ní ShúilleabháinCall Number: James Joyce, Store LD 2015.3192ISBN: 9781845366377Publication Date: 2014
- How to Write Law Essays and Exams by S. I. StrongCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 808.06634 STRISBN: 9780199287550Publication Date: 2006How to Write Law Essays and Exams provides law students with a practical and proven method of analyzing and answering essay and exam questions. The book focuses on those questions that give students the most trouble, namely problem questions, but its techniques are equally applicable to other types of essays. Designed for law students of all levels, the text helps students understand their substantive courses while at the same time teaching vital writing and analytical skills.
Exam and Study Skills Online
- Essential Study Skills by Tom Burns; Sandra SinfieldCall Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9781473919020Publication Date: 2016Packed with study tips and handy activities, Essential Study Skills is a proven guide that shows you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university - whatever level you're at.
- The Study Skills Book by Kathleen McMillan; Jonathan WeyersCall Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9781283683807Publication Date: 2012All key study skills are covered including essay writing, revision and exams, tutorials, and dissertations.
Some Study Skills Titles
- The Study Skills Handbook by Sheila CottrellCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 371.30281 COTISBN: 9781137289254Publication Date: 2013
- The Study Skills Guide by Patrick Forsyth; Mark Connelly; Jacqueline ConnellyCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 378.170281 FORISBN: 9780749461263Publication Date: 2010The Study Skills Guide covers the essential skills that lead to success at university. With advice on how to work efficiently and achieve great results, this comprehensive guide offers practical and proven ways to cope with the challenges you will face. Designed to help you achieve important goals, it offers vital advice on how to the get the best out of your study, including advice on revision and exam techniques; tips on note-taking and writing good essays and dissertations and guidance on how to impress with presentations.
- The Guide to Learning and Study Skills - For Higher Education and at Work by Sue Drew; Rosie BinghamCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 378.170281 DREISBN: 9780566092336Publication Date: 2010Skills in learning and studying are vital to ensure success in higher education study, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, in university, college or in the workplace. Skills are needed in reflection, analysis, communication and recording information to produce good work, to engage effectively in a group, to carry out a project or perform well in exams; personal skills are needed to handle time and pressure and to relate to others on a course or in the workplace.
UCDSU Exam Tips Video
Health and Wellbeing Titles
- Skilful Time Management! by Peter LevinCall Number: James Joyce, Study Skills Collection 371.30281 LEVISBN: 9780335222940Publication Date: 2007This title helps students to cope with the complex demands upon their time. It highlights time-management problems, shows how to assess and overcome them, examines how good work patterns may be established and how one-off events can be fitted into a work routine.
- Instant Time Management by Brian CleggCall Number: James Joyce, General 658.4093 CLEISBN: 0749429631Publication Date: 1999This lively inspirational guide will help anyone make the most of that rare commodity - time. Like other books in the Instant series, this book begins with a few short introductory chapters on managing yourself (everything from highly structured time management solutions to simple ideas); managing other people (learn how to deal with interruptions and things that disrupt your day); managing the world (shows how to deal with external factors that can either help or hinder your day)
A selection of titles on coping with stress and anxiety
A selection of mindfulness titles
- Seachtain na Gaeilge
- Archive of Previous Themes
- LGBT+ History Month
- Exams Resilience
- Solidarity with the Palestinian People
- Cló-Iar Chonnacht
- Dublin Festival of History 2022
- Leabhair Ghaeilge!
- Plastic Free July!
- Pride 2022
- Dublin Literary Award 2022
- Nora: One Dublin One Book 2022
- Saint Patrick - An Icon of Irishness
- International Women's Day - #BreaktheBias
- Laureate for Irish Fiction
- New Year, New Books
- Have a very Green Christmas!
- Dublin Book Festival 2021
- Parent and Carer Collection
- Dublin Book Festival 2019
- Dublin Festival of History 2019
- Library Staff Picks 2019
- Time for Travel!
- International DUBLIN Literary Award 2019
- Mindfulness, Exams and You
- Dublin One City One Book 2019
- International Women's Day 2019 - #BalanceforBetter
- Recent Irish themed books
- Year of Indigenous Languages
- Nollaig Shona 2018
- Armistice 100
- A selection of our new books 2018
- UCD Exams - Books to Keep You Afloat!
- International DUBLIN Literary Award 2018
- Dublin: One City One Book 2018
- Mountains to Sea dlr Book Festival 2018
- A selection of our new books 2018
- Bliain na Gaeilge
- New Year, New You 2018
- Jonathan Swift Festival
- Kavanagh Reconsidered
- Dublin Festival of History 2017
- Study Skills for New Students
- Heritage Week 2017: Patrick Kavanagh Reconsidered
- Time for Travel 2017
- International Dublin Literary Award 2017
- UCD Library Staff Picks
- Dig our Gardening Collection!
- Sporting Biographies
- Recent Publications from UCD Authors
- The Stu Daultrey Donation
- Some Irish Women Painters
- New Year, New You!
- Christmas 2016
- The American Election
- Female Playwrights
- Bí ag léamh i nGaeilge
- Dublin Festival of History 2016
- 1916 - 2016
- Reading 1916
- UCD Press Titles
- Taisteal as Gaeilge
- It's Revision Time!
- One City One Book
- The Irish at the Oscars
- Irish Folklore in UCD Library
- First Fortnight
- Nollaig Shona - Chrismas 2015
- The Ireland Chair of Poetry
- Library Ireland Week 2015
- DVD Collection Focus
- The Man Booker Prize 2015
- Russia on the Eve of War and Revolution
- Dublin Festival of History 2015
- Yeats 150
- The 2015 IMPAC Award Shortlist & Winner
- James Joyce and Bloomsday 2015
- Irish Drama featuring Christopher Murray
- National Dawn Chorus Day: the UCD Library Ornithology Collection
- The Irish Short Story
- Earth Day 2015
- Dublin: One City, One Book - The Barrytown Trilogy
- The Health and Wellbeing Collection
- The New Laureate for Irish Fiction
- Irish Authors on Film
- Chinese New Year - Year of the Goat
- The Laureate for Irish Fiction Nominees
- Writers With Pride
- Nollaig Shona - An Irish Christmas
- Man Booker Prize 2014
- Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2014
- Last Updated: Mar 28, 2023 12:25 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/spotlight
- Print Page