- Explore Collections
- UCD Library Collection Spotlight
- LGBT+ History Month
UCD Library Collection Spotlight: LGBT+ History Month
During February we are celebrating LGBT+ History Month! We are partnering with UCD Equality, Diversity and Inclusion to bring attention to the many resources we hold here in the UCD Library collections. This includes print books, electronic books (ebooks), databases and more.
At the display is also featured selected historical material from UCD Special Collections.
Check out our Spotlight display, now in the James Joyce Library. The books on this page are available to borrow from the display shelves, or find out more about them here, along with links to our library catalogue. There are many more and we will be rotating the display throughout the month.
Be sure to check our social media channels too for more.
- Queer Youth Histories by Daniel Marshall (Editor)Call Number: 306.766 MARISBN: 9781137565495Publication Date: 2021-12-18
- Living Out Loud by Michael J. Murphy (Editor); Brytton Bjorngaard (Editor)Call Number: 306.766 MURISBN: 9781138191914Publication Date: 2018-08-06
- The History of Marriage Equality in Ireland by Sonja TiernanCall Number: 306.848 TIEISBN: 9781526160782Publication Date: 2021-10-19
- A Day in May: real lives, true stories by Charlie Bird; Colm Tóibín (Foreword by)Call Number: 306.766 BIRISBN: 9781785370762Publication Date: 2016-06-01
- Gay and Lesbian Activism in the Republic of Ireland, 1973-93 by Patrick McDonaghCall Number: 306.766 MCDISBN: 9781350197466Publication Date: 2021-11-18
- Feeling Backward: loss and the politics of queer history by Heather LoveCall Number: 306.766 LOVISBN: 9780674032392Publication Date: 2009-03-31
- Queer spaces : an atlas of LGBTQIA+ places and stories by Adam Nathaniel Furman and Joshua Mardell, eds.Call Number: 306.76 FURISBN: 9781914124211Publication Date: 2022
Open Educational Resources
These resources are available as open access and free to all.
- Freedom to Differ: the shaping of the gay and lesbian struggle for civil rights by Diane Helene MillerCall Number: free to read onlineISBN: 9780814759714Publication Date: 1998-08-01
- The American LGBTQ Rights Movement by Kyle Morgan; Meg RodriguezCall Number: Open Access bookISBN: 9781947112445Publication Date: 2020-07-08
- Litigating for Lesbian and Gay Rights: A Legal History by Patricia A. CainCall Number: Open Access resource (journal article)Publication Date: Oct 1993
- Irish Queer Cinema by Allison MacleodCall Number: Open Access bookISBN: 9781474411493Publication Date: 2018
- Across the Spectrum: Attitudes towards Minoritised Genders and Sexualities in Ireland by Chris Noone et al.Call Number: Research Repository UCD open accessPublication Date: 2022
Highlighted Resource: LGBT History and Culture
Gale’s LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
LGBTQ History and Culture is an online resource that forms part of publisher Gale's Archives of Sexuality and Gender - a milestone digital program which brings together the world's largest collection of primary source content on gender, sexuality and identity. This major resource enables UCD students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, political science, policy studies, human rights, and more. Sourced from major gay and lesbian organizations worldwide, the archive includes over 2.5 million pages of rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, pamphlets and other types of historical documents.
Further information is available at www.gale.com/intl/primary-sources/archives-of-sexuality-and-gender
Go here to access the database via our catalogue.
Brought to you by UCD Library.
- Trans Britain : our long journey from the shadows by Christine BurnsCall Number: 306.768 BURISBN: 9781783524716Publication Date: 2018
- Queer city : gay London from the Romans to the present day by Peter AckroydCall Number: 306.766 ACKISBN: 9780701188818Publication Date: 2017
- Stonewall: the riots that sparked the gay revolution by David CarterCall Number: 306.766 CARISBN: 9780312671938Publication Date: 2010-05-25
- Pride : photographs after Stonewall by Fred W. McDarrahCall Number: 306.766 MCDISBN: 9781786997128Publication Date: 2019
- Tomorrow Will Be Different : love, loss, and the fight for trans equality by Sarah McBride; Joe Biden (Foreword by)Call Number: 306.768 MCBISBN: 9781524761486Publication Date: 2019-03-05
- Pictures and Passions by James M. SaslowCall Number: 704.08664 SASISBN: 9780670859535Publication Date: 1999-10-01
- Learning Queer Identity in the Digital Age by Kay SieblerCall Number: 306.766 SIEISBN: 9781137603227Publication Date: 2016-06-17
- A Single Man by Christopher IsherwoodISBN: 9780099541288Publication Date: 1964
- Seachtain na Gaeilge
- Archive of Previous Themes
- LGBT+ History Month
- Exams Resilience
- Solidarity with the Palestinian People
- Cló-Iar Chonnacht
- Dublin Festival of History 2022
- Leabhair Ghaeilge!
- Plastic Free July!
- Pride 2022
- Dublin Literary Award 2022
- Nora: One Dublin One Book 2022
- Saint Patrick - An Icon of Irishness
- International Women's Day - #BreaktheBias
- Laureate for Irish Fiction
- New Year, New Books
- Have a very Green Christmas!
- Dublin Book Festival 2021
- Parent and Carer Collection
- Dublin Book Festival 2019
- Dublin Festival of History 2019
- Library Staff Picks 2019
- Time for Travel!
- International DUBLIN Literary Award 2019
- Mindfulness, Exams and You
- Dublin One City One Book 2019
- International Women's Day 2019 - #BalanceforBetter
- Recent Irish themed books
- Year of Indigenous Languages
- Nollaig Shona 2018
- Armistice 100
- A selection of our new books 2018
- UCD Exams - Books to Keep You Afloat!
- International DUBLIN Literary Award 2018
- Dublin: One City One Book 2018
- Mountains to Sea dlr Book Festival 2018
- A selection of our new books 2018
- Bliain na Gaeilge
- New Year, New You 2018
- Jonathan Swift Festival
- Kavanagh Reconsidered
- Dublin Festival of History 2017
- Study Skills for New Students
- Heritage Week 2017: Patrick Kavanagh Reconsidered
- Time for Travel 2017
- International Dublin Literary Award 2017
- UCD Library Staff Picks
- Dig our Gardening Collection!
- Sporting Biographies
- Recent Publications from UCD Authors
- The Stu Daultrey Donation
- Some Irish Women Painters
- New Year, New You!
- Christmas 2016
- The American Election
- Female Playwrights
- Bí ag léamh i nGaeilge
- Dublin Festival of History 2016
- 1916 - 2016
- Reading 1916
- UCD Press Titles
- Taisteal as Gaeilge
- It's Revision Time!
- One City One Book
- The Irish at the Oscars
- Irish Folklore in UCD Library
- First Fortnight
- Nollaig Shona - Chrismas 2015
- The Ireland Chair of Poetry
- Library Ireland Week 2015
- DVD Collection Focus
- The Man Booker Prize 2015
- Russia on the Eve of War and Revolution
- Dublin Festival of History 2015
- Yeats 150
- The 2015 IMPAC Award Shortlist & Winner
- James Joyce and Bloomsday 2015
- Irish Drama featuring Christopher Murray
- National Dawn Chorus Day: the UCD Library Ornithology Collection
- The Irish Short Story
- Earth Day 2015
- Dublin: One City, One Book - The Barrytown Trilogy
- The Health and Wellbeing Collection
- The New Laureate for Irish Fiction
- Irish Authors on Film
- Chinese New Year - Year of the Goat
- The Laureate for Irish Fiction Nominees
- Writers With Pride
- Nollaig Shona - An Irish Christmas
- Man Booker Prize 2014
- Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2014
- UCD Equality, Diversity & Inclusion website Here you will find information on various supports for LGBTI+ identifying staff and students, as well as links to previous events hosted in the University.
- LGBT Ireland LGBT Ireland is a national organisation underpinned by localised knowledge and responses. Together with our network members, we provide support, training, and advocacy which aims to improve the lives of LGBT+ people across Ireland.
- LGBTQ+ History Month (2022, Ireland) From ShoutOut.ie. School resources and more
- LGBT Ireland Strategic Plan 2023-2027 The ambitious plan, titled ‘Making Ireland the Best Place in Europe to be LGBTQI+’ sets out a framework which is centred around supporting and empowering LGBTQI+ people to be visible, safe and to have their voices heard in the policy and practices that affect their lives.
- LGBT+ History Month website (UK) The UK site celebrating LGBT+ History Month (from School's Out)
Read the following books and reference sources from anywhere, once you've logged in to UCD Connect.
- Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history by Howard Chiang ; assoc. eds. Anjali Aronekar et al.Call Number: eBook (online)ISBN: 9780684325545Publication Date: 2019
- The Early History of the Gay Rights Movement by Greg BaldinoCall Number: ebook (read online)ISBN: 9781538381298Publication Date: 2018-12-30
- LGBTQ Social Movements by Lisa M. StulbergCall Number: ebook (read online)ISBN: 9781509527403Publication Date: 2018-01-16
- The Gay Liberation Movement by Sean Heather K. McGrawCall Number: ebook (read online)ISBN: 9781538381359Publication Date: 2018-12-30
- Pioneers of LGBTQ+ Rights by Ellen McGrodyCall Number: ebook (read online)ISBN: 9781538381311Publication Date: 2018-12-30
- Last Updated: Mar 28, 2023 12:25 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/spotlight
- Print Page