Parenting and Caring Collection & Staff Wellbeing: Care Giver Care
This guide showcases UCD Library books on aspects of stages of parenting and caring for parents
Carer Care
Carer's Bible by
"Let us recognise that those who are ending their lives in the frailty of old age deserve the same care and attention as those who are beginning their lives in the vulnerability of infancy."This accessible and detailed guide includes practical tips, checklists for best practice, descriptions of their experience from a wide range of carers that addresses solutions to common problems and expert advice on how to deliver compassionate and dignified care to older people. It is easy to read and provides anecdotal experience from carers and tips from the experts.The Carer's Bible covers topics such as:HOW TO ENSURE DIGNIFIED CAREHOW TO SUPPORT PERSONAL CARE AND DAILY LIVINGHOW TO CARE FOR SOMEONE WITH DEMENTIAHOW TO CARE FOR YOURSELF AND PREVENT BURNOUTHOW TO SUPPORT EMOTIONAL AND SPIRITUAL NEEDSHOW TO SUPPORT CREATIVITY AND ACTIVITYHOW TO CARE AS RELATIVES FOR LOVED ONESHOW TO GIVE COMPASSIONATE END OF LIFE CARE Uniquely, Amanda Waring also provides support and guidance for the carer, how to maintain energy and commitment, how to recognise the signs of compassion fatigue and where carers can get help if they need it. The Carer's Bible is essential reading for anyone who cares for an elderly person, whether as a professional or as a loved one, in its promotion of the role dignity and respect should play. This accessible and detailed guide includes practical tips, checklists for best practice, descriptions of their experience from a wide range of carers that addresses solutions to common problems and expert advice on how to deliver compassionate and dignified care to older people. Uniquely, Amanda Waring also provides support and guidance for the carer, how to maintain energy and commitment, how to recognise signs of compassion fatigue and where carers can get help if they need it.
2018
ISBN 0285643991
Call Number: 649.80846WAR Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Awake at the Bedside by
This book isn't about dying. It's about life and what life has to teach us. It's about caring and what giving care really means In Awake at the Bedside, pioneers of palliative and end-of-life care as well as doctors, chaplains, caregivers and even poets offer wisdom that will challenge, uplift, comfort--and change the way we think about death. Equal parts instruction manual and spiritual testimony, it includes specific instructions and personal accounts to inspire, counsel, and teach. An indispensable resource for anyone involved in hospice work or caregiving of any kind. Contributors include Anyen Rinpoche, Coleman Barks, Craig D. Blinderman, Bhikkhu Bodhi, Joshua Bright, Ira Byock, Robert Chodo Campbell, Rafael Campo, Ajahn Chah, Ram Dass, Kirsten DeLeo, Issan Dorsey, Mark Doty, Norman Fischer, Nick Flynn, Gil Fronsdal, Joseph Goldstein, Shodo Harada Roshi, Tony Hoagland, Marie Howe, Fernando Kawai, Michael Kearney, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, Stanley Kunitz, Stephen and Ondrea Levine, Judy Lief, Betsy MacGregor, Diane E. Meier, W. S. Merwin, Naomi Shihab Nye, Frank Ostaseski, Rachel Naomi Remen, Larry Rosenberg, Rumi, Cicely Saunders, Senryu, Jason Shinder, Derek Walcott, Radhule B. Weininger.
2016
ISBN 1614291195
Call Number: 294.34442PAL
Parental Care
Caring for Our Aging Parents by
Caring for Our Aging Parents will guide adult individuals who are facing the obvious and subtle changes that take place as theirparents age. It addresses a variety of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual areas of decline. Readers will learn how to deal more effectively with their own emotional responses to these eve-raltering shifts in their parents' personalities with good grace and by utilising sound biblical principles.This resource offers real life stories of individuals who have found positive and life-affirming methods to communicating respectfully and lovingly to their aged parents. Readers will also be heartened to find practical suggestions for mending broken relationships and gaining new ground with their parents, even when their past hasbeen checkered by pain and difficulty.
2016
ISBN 9781619708358
Call Number: 248.84HOW
Coping with Your Difficult Older Parent by
Do You Have An Aging Parent Who -- Blames you for everything that goes wrong? Cannot tolerate being alone, wants you all the time? Is obsessed with health problems, real, or imagined? Make unreasonable and/or irrational demands of you? Is hostile, negative and critical? Coping with these traits in parents is an endless high-stress battle for their children. Though there's no medical defination for "difficult" parents, you know when you have one. While it's rare for adults to change their ways late in life, you can stop the vicious merry-go-round of anger, blame, guilt and frustration. For the first time, here's a common-sense guide from professionals, with more than two decades in the field, on how to smooth communications with a challenging parent. Filled with practical tips for handling contentious behaviors and sample dialogues for some of the most troubling situations, this book addresses many hard issues, including: How to tell your parent he or she cannot live with you. How to avoid the cycle of nagging and recriminations How to prevent your parent's negativity from overwhelming you. How to deal with an impaired parent who refuses to stop driving. How to asses the risk factors in deciding whether a parent is still able to live alone.
1999
ISBN 038079750X
Call Number: 306.874LEB
The Essential Family Guide to Caring for Older People by
No one wants to think about getting older. It's true. At any age, when things are moving along normally day to day and everyone seems fit and well, there seems no reason to think about future problems that your friends and relatives might (and probably will) come across as they age. In fact, it might even seem a little morbid to think such thoughts, or possibly even tempting fate? Yet there will come a time when you must raise these issues and, ideally, this should be before any problems arise. The Essential Family Guide to Caring for Older People is the ultimate source of information and help for families with care responsibilities. Deborah Stone draws on her extensive experience working in elder care to offer practical advice on every aspect of the field indepth. Topics range from how to get help immediately, legal information, care funding options, a guide to useful technology and advice on the main physical and mental health issues that affect older people. Plus guidance is given on dealing with social services and ensuring you choose the right care for your situations. Crucially, the book also offers help on how to cope as a carer with practical advice on juggling family, work and your caring responsibilities while looking after yourself.
2020
ISBN 1472965434
Call Number: 362.63STO Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
How to Care for Aging Parents by
The bible of eldercare ABC World News. An indispensable book AARP. A compassionate guide of encyclopedic proportion "The Washington Post." And, winner of a Books for a Better Life Award. "How to Care for Aging Parents" is the best and bestselling book of its kind, and its author, Virginia Morris, is the go-to person on eldercare for the media, appearing on "Oprah," "TODAY," and "Good Morning America," among many other outlets."How to Care for Aging Parents" is an authoritative, clear, and comforting source of advice and support for the ever-growing number of Americans now 42 million who care for an elderly parent, relative, or friend. And now, in its third edition, it is completely overhauled and updated, chapter-by-chapter and page-by-page, with the most recent medical findings and recommendations. It includes a whole new chapter on fraud; details on the latest aging in place technologies; more helpful online resources; and everything you need to know about current laws and regulations. Also new are fill-in worksheets for gathering specifics on medications; caregivers names, schedules, and contact info; doctors phone numbers and addresses; and other essential information in one handy place at the back of the book.From having that first difficult conversation to arranging a funeral and dealing with grief and all of the other important issues in between "How to Care for Aging Parents" is the essential guide."
2014
ISBN 0761166769
Call Number: 306.8740846MOR
Navigating the Journey of Aging Parents by
Navigating the Journey of Aging Parents proposes an entirely unique approach to the field of gerontology, giving dependent care receivers a voice. nbsp; Caregivers will be made aware of what care receivers truly want during life's final chapters. Exploring issues of housing, spirituality, personal care and death, Cheryl Kuba has created a testament to the dependent elderly. This book draws on numerous interviews with aging people and discusses common caregiver mistakes and interpretations, what a caregiver should expect when an aging parent moves in, and how to care for an aging parent from afar. Kuba also delves into such phenomena as guilt, role reversal, changing family dynamics, financial stress, and caring for oneself while caring for another. The 22.4 million elderly people being cared for in the United States comprises the fastest growing segment of the population, making this reference on the opinions and concerns of care receivers invaluable.
2006
ISBN 0415952883
Call Number: 362.6KUB
You and Your Aging Parent by
1982
ISBN 0394521692
Call Number: 362.82SIL
Caring for a loved one
The Carer's Handbook 3rd Edition by
This indispensable guide aims to be a one-stop-shop for the huge percentage of the population who, now or later, find themselves in a caring role, whether that involves shopping for a housebound neighbour, or giving up work to care full-time for a disabled child or confused parent. This book will also help carers care for themselves. It looks at the difficult feelings that go hand in hand with caring, including how relationships are affected. There's guidance on what to do when a carer stops coping, and how to prepare emotionally and practically for the time when caring comes to an end.
2019
ISBN 1472141873
Call Number: 362.0425MAT
Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant? by
#1New York TimesBestseller 2014 National Book Award Finalist Winner of the inaugural 2014 Kirkus Prize in nonfiction Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award Winner of the 2014 Books for a Better Life Award Winner of the 2015 Reuben Award from National Cartoonists Society In her first memoir,New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. While the particulars are Chast-ian in their idiosyncrasies--an anxious father who had relied heavily on his wife for stability as he slipped into dementia and a former assistant principal mother whose overbearing personality had sidelined Roz for decades--the themes are universal: adult children accepting a parental role; aging and unstable parents leaving a family home for an institution; dealing with uncomfortable physical intimacies; and hiring strangers to provide the most personal care. An amazing portrait of two lives at their end and an only child coping as best she can,Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant shows the full range of Roz Chast's talent as cartoonist and storyteller.
2016
ISBN 1632861011
Call Number: 741.56973092CHA/C
