Parenting and Caring Collection & Staff Wellbeing: Caring for toddlers
This guide showcases UCD Library books on aspects of stages of parenting and caring for parents
What to expect - toddler years
What to expect the second year by
The international super-successful What to Expectbrand has delivered again - announcing the arrival of a brand-new member of family: What to Expect the Second Year. This essential sequel to What to Expect the First Year picks up the action at baby's first birthday, and takes parents through what can only be called 'the wonder year' - 12 jam-packed (and jam-smeared) months of memorable milestones (from first steps to first words, first scribbles to first friends), lightning-speed learning, endless explorations driven by insatiable curiosity. Not to mention a year of challenges, both for toddlers and the parents who love them, but don't always love their behaviour (picky eating, negativity, separation anxiety, bedtime battles, biting, and tantrums).
Comprehensive, reassuring, empathetic, realistic and practical, What to Expect the Second Yearis filled with solutions, strategies, and plenty of parental pep talks. It helps parents decode the fascinating, complicated, sometimes maddening, always adorable little person last year's baby has become.
From the first birthday to the second, this must-have book covers everything parents need to know in an easy-to-access, topic-by-topic format, with chapters on growth, feeding, sleeping, behaviours of every conceivable kind, discipline (including teaching right from wrong), and keeping a toddler healthy and safe as he or she takes on the world. There's a developmental time line of the second year plus special 'milestone' boxes throughout that help parents keep track of their toddler's development. Thinking of travelling with tot in tow? There's a chapter for that, too.
2012
ISBN 9780857206701
Call Number: 649.122MUR Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Preparing for another arrival
The Second Baby Book by
Having a second baby is a very different experience from having your first, yet there is little recognition of the wide range of issues that need to be considered when bringing a second child into the family. In this incredibly helpful book, Sarah Ockwell-Smith helps parents feel more positive and prepared for life with two children.
The book begins with the obvious question: when is the right time to add another member to the family? It then goes on to examine the specific issues that can arise with a second pregnancy and birth; the common concerns about siblings, such as how to prepare your firstborn for what's to come; how to cope with the practicalities of life with two young children (aka actually managing to get anything done!); and the feelings parents are likely to experience, too.
The Second Baby Book examines all the questions and issues Sarah herself faced second time around, as well as sharing the experiences of the many parents who have sought her advice. It also highlights what scientific studies reveal about such issues as the spacing of children and the differences between first and second births. Practical, insightful and honest, this book will help you understand the challenges ahead but, more importantly, it will equip you to meet them with knowledge, confidence and a sense of excitement for the future.
2019
ISBN 9780349420042
Call Number: 649.1OCK
Coping with Two by
Going from one to two children can seem daunting. If you're expecting your second child but already struggling to chase after a lively toddler, you're not alone in wondering how you will ever manage. Or perhaps your child is older and somewhat unenthusiastic about the prospect of a new brother or sister. Coping with Two takes second time mums from pregnancy and birth to the first day on your own with your new baby and older child. And it guides you through the weeks, months and years beyond, giving you all the practical advice and reassurance you'll need. The book includes: breastfeeding and toddler jealousy leaving the house on time without tears easy bed and bath time routines - that work! what to do when your eldest hits you and hates the baby how to prioritize when both children are crying teaching your children to get on with each other loving your children equally without favourites.
2012
ISBN 1848508123
Call Number: 649.143CAV Also available as an ebook click on title to access
Specific Toddler issues
The Calm and Happy Toddler by
Child development expert Dr Rebecca Chicot shares with you the secrets to calm and stress-free toddler parenting. Based on her unique parent-toddler approach, she reveals that by understanding how your toddler thinks and what changes he is going through, you can respond with confidence and stop sweating the small stuff. Whether you need help with tantrums, night waking, potty training or fussy eating, inside you'll find- A toddler toolkit to help you cope with every toddler scenario A fire-fighting guide to hand-hold you through the classic toddler challenges; No! Now! Mine! Yuk! A toddler development map to show you how your toddler is changing, what stage they are at, and how to best to enjoy and encourage their mental, social and emotional development The Calm and Happy Toddler is the 'how to' and 'why' of toddler parenting- read this book to understand your toddler, get on the same team and thrive together.
2016
ISBN 1785040103
Call Number: 649.122CHI
Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage by
Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage offers practical, age-appropriate toddler discipline strategies for managing the everyday challenges of toddlerhood and guiding your child to becoming their best self. Toddlers are constantly changing, and they can easily become overwhelmed by it all. When faced with the meltdowns that toddlers are famous for, it can be difficult to know which toddler discipline techniques will best help your child grow into a stronger, kinder person. Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage delivers essential toddler discipline tools for dealing with day-to-day difficulties, and supporting your toddler as they learn the important lessons that will set them up for success. Written by child development expert Aubrey Hargis, Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage will help you understand your toddler's behavioral challenges while fostering important life skills such as curiosity, respect, independence, and confidence. Drawing on Aubrey's years of coaching parents through the rocky terrain of toddler discipline, as well as her own experience as a mother of two, Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage delivers proven toddler discipline techniques that will help you grow closer as parent and child during each stage of your toddler's first formative years. Inside the pages of Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage you'll find: An overview of your child's development--including physical, cognitive, and social-emotional--and how this affects their behavior. Age-appropriate toddler discipline strategies that will help you manage common behavioral issues by building upon each stage of progress. Helpful toddler discipline sidebars and tips for dealing with tricky situations, guidance on how best to communicate with your child, and advice from parents who've been there. While child development is not a linear process, Toddler Discipline for Every Age and Stage provides you with a practical, effective toddler discipline toolkit for navigating the ups and downs of your little one's toddlerhood and thereafter.
2018
ISBN 1641521279
Call Number: 649.122HAR
How to talk so little kids will listen by
From the widely acclaimed HOW TO TALK series, discover tried and tested communication strategies to survive - and thrive - with kids ages 2-7
The all-new content in this book deals with struggles familiar to every parent, relative, teacher and childminder. How do you respond to the toddler who won't brush his teeth? The preschooler who pinches the baby? The child who throws everything she can reach?
It's hard to be a little kid. It's hard to be an adult responsible for that little kid. And it's really hard to think about effective communication when the toast is burning, the baby is crying and you're exhausted.
This book will help readers do just that. Organized according to everyday challenges and conflicts, and including real-life examples and the series' trademark cartoons, this book is a survival manual of communication tools, including a chapter that addresses the special needs of children with sensory processing or autism spectrum disorders.
2017
ISBN 9781848126145
Call Number: 649.1FAB
Toddler Nutrition & Eating
Neven Maguire's Complete Baby and Toddler Cookbook by
Neven Maguire is Ireland's most trusted chef. Now he shows you how to give your child the best start in life with honest-to-goodness recipes and advice, all based on his experiences as a busy father of two. In this new collection of recipes for babies and toddlers, Neven takes away the worry of introducing your baby to solid food for the first time and gives you plenty of inspiration to encourage your little one to develop a life-long love of delicious and nutritious eating. "If you're looking for inspiration about when, how and what to feed your baby, it's here. Neven Maguire's compendium of 200 recipes for babies and toddlers is not short of creative ideas and practical tips." - Paula Mee, The Irish Times
2016
ISBN 9780717166046
Call Number: 641.562MAG
The Gentle Eating Book by
Most parents worry about their child's eating at some point. Common concerns include picky eating in toddlerhood, sweet cravings and vegetable avoidance in the early school years and dieting and worries about weight in the tween and teenage years. The Gentle Eating Book will help parents to understand their child's eating habits at each age. Starting from birth, the book covers how to start your child off with the most positive approach to eating, whether they are breast or bottle-fed. Parents of older babies will find information about introducing solids, feeding at daycare and when to wean off of breast or formula milk. For parents with toddlers and older children, Sarah includes advice on picky eating and food refusal, overeating, snacking and navigating eating at school, while parents of tweens and teens will find information on dieting, peer pressure, promoting a positive body image and preparing children for future eating independence. At each age The Gentle Eating Book will help parents to feed their child in a manner that will set up positive eating habits for life.
Call Number: On order coming soonISBN: 0349414424Publication Date: 2021-01-19
My Fussy Eater by
Delicious and easy recipes for those fussy eaters in your life!
Call Number: On order coming soonISBN: 1911600753Publication Date: 2018-04-19
Toddler emotions
The Emotional Life of the Toddler by
Now updated with new material throughout, Alicia F. Lieberman's The Emotional Life of the Toddler is the seminal, detailed look into the varied and intense emotional life of children aged one to three. Hailed as "groundbreaking" by The Boston Globe after its initial publication, the new edition includes the latest research on this crucial stage of development. Anyone who has followed an active toddler around for a day knows that a child of this age is a whirlwind of explosive, contradictory, and ever-changing emotions. Alicia F. Lieberman offers an in-depth examination of toddlers' emotional development, and illuminates how to optimize this crucial stage so that toddlers can develop into emotionally healthy children and adults. Drawing on her lifelong research, Dr. Lieberman addresses commonly asked questions and issues. Why, for example, is "no" often the favorite response of the toddler? How should parents deal with the anger they might feel when their toddler is being aggressively stubborn? Why does a crying toddler run to his mother for a hug only to push himself vigorously away as soon as she begins to embrace him? This updated edition also addresses twenty-first century concerns such as how to handle screen time on devices and parenting in a post-internet world. With the help of numerous examples and vivid cases, Lieberman answers these and other questions, providing, in the process, a rich, insightful profile of the roller coaster emotional world of the toddler.
2017
ISBN 9781476792033
Call Number: 649.122LIE Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
What's my child thinking by
Make every moment with your child count. Tap into the psychology behind your child's behaviour and respond with confidence.
Find out what your child really means when he or she says "Look what I've done!", "But, I'm not tired", or "You're embarrassing me" - and discover what's really going on when they can't express themselves at all. Taking more than 100 everyday situations, the book leads you through scenarios step-by-step, explaining not only your child's behaviour and the psychology behind it but also your own feelings as a parent. It then gives instant recommendations for what you could say and do to best resolve the situation.
Covering all your child's developmental milestones from ages 2 to 7 years, What's My Child Thinking? covers important issues - such as temper tantrums, sibling rivalry, and peer pressure. What's more, there is a bank of practical "survival guides" for critical times, such as travelling in the car and going online safely.
Rooted in evidence-based clinical psychology and championing positive parenting, What's My Child Thinking? will help you tune into your child's innermost thoughts and be the parent you want to be
2019
ISBN 0241343801
Call Number: 155.4CAR
Resources
- Healthy Ireland Smart Start This Pre-school Health Promotion training programme is the result of over a decade of collaborative working led by the HSE Department of Health Promotion and Improvement in partnership with National Childhood Network, to ensure children in the pre-school settings are supported to adopt healthy lifestyle behaviours in early childhood. The Training Programme reflects the aim of the Healthy Ireland Framework >> to bring all people together into a national movement with a single aim to ensure the best possible health and well-being of our nation.
- Schooldays Preschool Primary and Secondary