Parenting and Caring Collection & Staff Wellbeing: Ebooks
This guide showcases UCD Library books on aspects of stages of parenting and caring for parents
Explore these Ebooks
Here is a selection of the books in the parenting and caring collection which are available to read online as ebooks.
To read, just click on the blue title of the book, login using your UCD Connect username and password, then you can start reading.
Please also see the links to online resources found under each topic on this guide.
Highlights
Parenting Topics
Parent Hacks by
"Just . . . genius."--Buzzfeed Life with kids just got easier with these 134 ingenious hacks developed by parents just like you. Put the ketchup under the hot dog, minimizing the mess. Strap baby into a forward-facing carrier when you need to trim her fingernails--it frees your hands while controlling the squirming. Or stash a wallet in a disposable diaper at the beach--who would ever poke through what looks like a used Pamper? All these hacks are easy to do, are boldly illustrated, and use everyday items in unexpected ways. And the range--from pregnancy and postpartum, through sleep, eating, bath time, travel, and more--covers all the most critical years when parents really need a little extra help.
ISBN 0761184317
2016
Call Number: 649.1DOR
The Informed Parent by
In the era of questionable Internet 'facts' and parental oversharing, it's more important than ever to find credible information on everything from prenatal vitamins to screen time. The good news is that parents and parents-to-be no longer need to rely on an opinionated mother-in-law about whether it's OK to eat sushi in your third trimester, an old college roommate for sleep-training 'rules,' or an online parenting group about how long you should breastfeed (there's a vehement group for every opinion). Credible scientific studies are out there - and they're 'bottom-lined' in this book. The ultimate resource for today's science-minded generation,The Informed Parentwas written for readers who prefer facts to 'friendly advice,' and who prefer to make up their own minds, based on the latest findings as well as their own personal preferences. Science writers and parents themselves, authors Tara Haelle and Emily Willingham have sifted through thousands of research studies on dozens of essential topics, and distill them in this essential and engaging book. Topics include- Home birth * Labor induction * Vaginal birth vs. Cesarean birth * Circumcision * Postpartum depression * Breastfeeding * Vaccines * Sleep training * Pacifiers * SIDS * Bed-sharing * Potty training * Childhood obesity * Food sensitivities and allergies * BPA and plastics * GMOs vs. organic foods * The hygiene hypothesis * Spanking * Daycare vs. other childcare options 'Accessible and informative . . . For anyone headed into parenthood, this is a must-read, as it answers so many questions new parents are bound to ask.'Kirkus Reviews 'The book shines with clear explanations of the reasoning behind common hospital practices such as labor induction, vitamin K shots, and taking Apgar scores, including up-to-date summaries of the sometimes overwhelming-data surrounding giving birth and infant care choices. Subjects of controversy, such as allergies and sleep training, receive in-depth, scientifically minded treatment.'Publishers Weekly
2016
ISBN 9780399171062
Call Number: 649.1HAE
For Carers
Carer's Bible by
"Let us recognise that those who are ending their lives in the frailty of old age deserve the same care and attention as those who are beginning their lives in the vulnerability of infancy."This accessible and detailed guide includes practical tips, checklists for best practice, descriptions of their experience from a wide range of carers that addresses solutions to common problems and expert advice on how to deliver compassionate and dignified care to older people. It is easy to read and provides anecdotal experience from carers and tips from the experts.The Carer's Bible covers topics such as:HOW TO ENSURE DIGNIFIED CAREHOW TO SUPPORT PERSONAL CARE AND DAILY LIVINGHOW TO CARE FOR SOMEONE WITH DEMENTIAHOW TO CARE FOR YOURSELF AND PREVENT BURNOUTHOW TO SUPPORT EMOTIONAL AND SPIRITUAL NEEDSHOW TO SUPPORT CREATIVITY AND ACTIVITYHOW TO CARE AS RELATIVES FOR LOVED ONESHOW TO GIVE COMPASSIONATE END OF LIFE CARE Uniquely, Amanda Waring also provides support and guidance for the carer, how to maintain energy and commitment, how to recognise the signs of compassion fatigue and where carers can get help if they need it. The Carer's Bible is essential reading for anyone who cares for an elderly person, whether as a professional or as a loved one, in its promotion of the role dignity and respect should play. This accessible and detailed guide includes practical tips, checklists for best practice, descriptions of their experience from a wide range of carers that addresses solutions to common problems and expert advice on how to deliver compassionate and dignified care to older people. Uniquely, Amanda Waring also provides support and guidance for the carer, how to maintain energy and commitment, how to recognise signs of compassion fatigue and where carers can get help if they need it.
2018
ISBN 0285643991
Call Number: 649.80846WAR
Finding the Light in Dementia by
'Finding the Light in Dementia: a guide for families, friends and caregivers' is the essential self help book that explains common changes that can occur in those living with dementia. By offering valuable approaches, tips and suggestions interspersed with individuals' stories, the reader can learn to care for and maintain a connection with their loved one (care partner). Whether you're a spouse, partner, daughter, son, sibling, friend or even a parent caring for a loved one living with dementia, this book is for you. Finding the Light in Dementia will help give you more confidence to care by: Supporting you through your partner's diagnosis of dementia Helping you understand what your partner is experiencing Teaching you ways to communicate and connect with each other Helping you make subtle changes to your home to help your partner feel safe and content Introducing practical and creative ways to stimulate memories to help with day to day living Showing you how to create lifestories together Suggesting ways to keep your partner interested and engaged in meaningful activities Providing tips for sleeping, eating and drinking Suggesting ways to help your partner with their appearance and dignity Showing you ways of overcoming the challenges of changing behaviour, reactions and responses Helping reduce the effects of hallucinations, delusions and misperceptions Suggesting ways for you to care for yourself Involving families and friends Giving advice when considering professional care at home and in residential care Knowing how tired and stressed you may feel, 'Finding the Light in Dementia' is written in bite sized chunks that makes it easy to follow. By giving you space to write down any points you would like to make and providing question sheets for you to refer to when speaking with your doctor and/or legal professionals you can make this your personal guide. When following the approaches in this book, you should find that your partner will feel more understood and you will become calmer thereby helping you both find a sense of connection and continue to live well.
2017
ISBN 1999926803
Call Number: 616.831MUL
Books for Carers
Care Giver Care
The Essential Family Guide to Caring for Older People by
No one wants to think about getting older. It's true. At any age, when things are moving along normally day to day and everyone seems fit and well, there seems no reason to think about future problems that your friends and relatives might (and probably will) come across as they age. In fact, it might even seem a little morbid to think such thoughts, or possibly even tempting fate? Yet there will come a time when you must raise these issues and, ideally, this should be before any problems arise. The Essential Family Guide to Caring for Older People is the ultimate source of information and help for families with care responsibilities. Deborah Stone draws on her extensive experience working in elder care to offer practical advice on every aspect of the field indepth. Topics range from how to get help immediately, legal information, care funding options, a guide to useful technology and advice on the main physical and mental health issues that affect older people. Plus guidance is given on dealing with social services and ensuring you choose the right care for your situations. Crucially, the book also offers help on how to cope as a carer with practical advice on juggling family, work and your caring responsibilities while looking after yourself.
2020
ISBN 1472965434
Call Number: 362.63STO Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
End of Life Care
The Art of Dying Well by
A reassuring and thoroughly researched guide to maintaining a high quality of life--from resilient old age to the first inklings of a serious illness to the final breath--by the New York Times bestselling author of Knocking on Heaven's Door. The Art of Dying Well is about living as well as possible for as long as possible and adapting successfully to change. Packed with extraordinarily helpful insights and inspiring true stories, award-winning journalist and prominent end-of-life speaker Katy Butler shows how to thrive in later life (even when coping with a chronic medical condition), how to get the best from our health system, and how to make your own "good death" more likely. This handbook of step by step preparations--practical, communal, physical, and sometimes spiritual--will help you make the most of your remaining time, be it decades, years, or months. Butler explains how to successfully age in place, why to pick a younger doctor and how to have an honest conversation with her, when not to call 911, and how to make your death a sacred rite of passage rather than a medical event. This down-to-earth manual for living, aging, and dying with meaning and even joy is based on Butler's own experience caring for aging parents, as well as hundreds of interviews with people who have successfully navigated a fragmented health system and helped their loved ones have good deaths. It also draws on interviews with nationally recognized experts in family medicine, palliative care, geriatrics, oncology, hospice, and other medical specialties. Inspired by the medieval death manual Ars Moriendi, or the Art of Dying, The Art of Dying Well is the definitive update for our modern age, and illuminates the path to a better end of life.
2019
ISBN 1501135317
Call Number: 616.029BUT Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Dying by
This book introduces a process-based, patient-centered approach to palliative care that substantiates an indication-oriented treatment and radical reconsideration of our transition to death. Drawing on decades of work with terminally ill cancer patients and a trove of research on near-death experiences, Monika Renz encourages practitioners to not only safeguard patients' dignity as they die but also take stock of their verbal, nonverbal, and metaphorical cues as they progress, helping to personalize treatment and realize a more peaceful death. Renz divides dying into three parts: pre-transition, transition, and post-transition. As we die, all egoism and ego-centered perception fall away, bringing us to another state of consciousness, a different register of sensitivity, and an alternative dimension of spiritual connectedness. As patients pass through these stages, they offer nonverbal signals that indicate their gradual withdrawal from everyday consciousness. This transformation explains why emotional and spiritual issues become enhanced during the dying process. Relatives and practitioners are often deeply impressed and feel a sense of awe. Fear and struggle shift to trust and peace; denial melts into acceptance. At first, family problems and the need for reconciliation are urgent, but gradually these concerns fade. By delineating these processes, Renz helps practitioners grow more cognizant of the changing emotions and symptoms of the patients under their care, enabling them to respond with the utmost respect for their patients' dignity.
2015
ISBN 9780231170888
Call Number: 616.029REN Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
After Loss Care
Children's and Young Adult Grief Books
When Parents Die by
The death of a parent marks an emotional and psychological watershed in a person's life. For children and teenagers, the loss of a parent if not handled sensitively can be a lasting trauma, and for adults too, a parent's death can be a tremendous blow. When Parents Die speaks to bereaved children of all ages. Rebecca Abrams draws on her personal and professional understandings of parental loss, as well as the experiences of many other adults, teenagers and children, to provide the reader with an honest, compassionate and insightful exploration of the experience of losing a parent. The book covers the entire course of grieving, from the immediate aftermath of a parent's death through to the point of recovery, paying particular attention to the many circumstances that can prolong and complicate mourning, including sudden death. An indispensible aid to the bereaved and the many professionals who work with them, this book is written in a clear and sympathetic style. It has been fully revised for this third edition to take recent research into account.
Call Number: EBook Click on the title to access
Bereaved by Suicide
Touched by Suicide by
Whether you are struggling with fresh grief at a loved one's death by suicide or your loss happened years ago, you should know that you are not alone. 5 million Americans are affected--directly or indirectly--by this tragedy each year. And it sends us on a lifelong search for answers, both to the practical questions and the deepest question of all: Why? In this definitive guide book, Michael F. Myers, MD, a leading psychiatrist, and Carla Fine, author of the acclaimed No Time to Say Goodbye: Surviving the Suicide of a Loved One, combine their perspectives as a physician and a survivor to offer compassionate and practical advice to anyone affected by suicide.
2006
ISBN 1592402283
Call Number: EBook click on title to access
Loss of Spouse
Healing a Spouse's Grieving Heart by
Helping widows and widowers learn how to cope with the grief of losing their helpmate, their lover, and perhaps their financial provider, this guide shows them how to find continued meaning in life when doing so seems difficult. Bereaved spouses will find advice on when and how to dispose of their mate's belongings, dealing with their children, and redefining their role with friends and family.
2003
ISBN 1879651378
Call Number: EBook Click on the title to access
Parenting Topics
Parenting Books
How to Be a Great Parent by
Does your child's behavior confuse you? Do you find yourself wondering if there is a better way to respond to your screaming toddler or teenager? It is easy to be the kind of parent you want to be when your children are safely tucked into bed at night. But how do you become that parent when they are getting into everything and driving you crazy? How to Be A Great Parent offers practical strategies and techniques for coping with a wide variety of parenting issues. Dr. Nancy S. Buck will help you deal with issues such as eating, biting, lying, chores, swearing, homework, sexuality, and more. Stories of real-life families plus parenting tips, quizzes, and Q&As show you how to apply these new techniques right away. You'll learn to stop asking why: Why does my child act that way? Why doesn't he listen to me? Why does she keep asking me permission when I've already told her no? And you'll discover the "magical question" you should be asking instead. You'll also find out to to: Make conscious parenting decisions instead of automatically doing what your parents did; decide how much freedom is enough for your child; harnass your child's innate desire for fun; cope with bedtime (and naptime); handle squabbling siblings; talk with your teenager; parent together after a divorce. Once you understand your child's behavior, you will be able to respond in a kinder, more effective way. This will facillitate a stronger parent/child bond.
ISBN 0825306892
Call Number: 649.1BUC Also available as an ebook click on the title to access
Positive Parenting by
Popular parenting writer Rebecca Eanes believes there's more to family life than just getting kids to behave. Struggling to maintain a meaningful connection with her two little ones, she began to share her insights with like-minded parents online - and her readership has grown into a thriving community more than half a million strong. In this eagerly anticipated guide, Eanes shares her hard-won wisdom for overcoming limiting thought patterns and recognizing emotional triggers, as well as connecting with kids at every stage, establishing trust and communication, and troubleshooting the most common behavioral problems. This is an empowering resource for any parent who wants to ease anger and frustration, end the downward spiral of acting out and punishment - and foster an emotional connection that helps kids gain self-discipline and confidence, and create lasting, loving bonds.
2016
ISBN 0143109227
Call Number: 649.1EAN Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Adoptive Parents
20 Things Adoptive Parents Need to Suceed by
Do I have what it takes to be a successful adoptive parent?
Does my child consider me a successful parent?
Will I ever hear my rebellious teen say, "I love you"?
What tools do I need to succeed?
In her groundbreaking first book, Twenty Things Adopted Kids Wish Their Adoptive Parents Knew, Sherrie Eldridge gave voice to the very real concerns of adopted children, whose unique perspectives offered unprecedented insight. In this all-new companion volume, Eldridge goes beyond those insights and shifts her focus to parents, offering them much-needed encouragement and hope.
Speaking from her own experience as an adoptee and an expert in the field of adoption, Eldridge shares proven strategies and the moving narratives of nearly one hundred adoptive families, helping parents gain a deeper understanding of what is normal, both for their children and themselves. By first strengthening yourself as a parent, you'll be able to truly listen to your child, and to connect with him on every level, by opening the channels of communication and keeping them open forever. Then you and your child can grow closer through the practical exercises at the end of every chapter.
Discover how to
- be confident that your role in your child's life is vital and irreplaceable
- pass on the legacy of healthy self-care by assessing and regulating your stress
- communicate unconditional love to your child
- talk candidly with your child about her adoption and her birth family
- teach your family how to respond positively to insensitive remarks about adoption
- connect with other adoptive families-and build a support network
- plus learn to become a "warrior" parent...settle the "real parent" question...cope with emotional triggers-what to do when you "lose it" . . . celebrate the miracle of your family...and much more
ISBN 0440338980
Call Number: eBook click on the title to access
Twenty things adopted kids wish their adoptive parents knew by
"Birthdays may be difficult for me."
"I want you to take the initiative in opening conversations about my birth family."
"When I act out my fears in obnoxious ways, please hang in there with me."
"I am afraid you will abandon me."
The voices of adopted children are poignant, questioning. And they tell a familiar story of loss, fear, and hope. This extraordinary book, written by a woman who was adopted herself, gives voice to children's unspoken concerns, and shows adoptive parents how to free their kids from feelings of fear, abandonment, and shame.
With warmth and candor, Sherrie Eldridge reveals the twenty complex emotional issues you must understand to nurture the child you love--that he must grieve his loss now if he is to receive love fully in the future--that she needs honest information about her birth family no matter how painful the details may be--and that although he may choose to search for his birth family, he will always rely on you to be his parents.
Filled with powerful insights from children, parents, and experts in the field, plus practical strategies and case histories that will ring true for every adoptive family, Twenty Things Adopted Kids Wish Their Adoptive Parents Knew is an invaluable guide to the complex emotions that take up residence within the heart of the adopted child--and within the adoptive home.
ISBN 0307570819
Call Number: eBook click on the title to access
IVF Fertility Care
Miscarriage, Pregnancy and baby loss
Coping with Pregnancy Loss by
Pregnancy loss can leave us with many unanswered questions, and knowing where to find answers is not always clear. ¿ This book is for you if, like me, you¿ve been affected by pregnancy loss ¿ currently or in the past. You might have had an early or late miscarriage, molar pregnancy, ectopic pregnancy, or stillbirth ¿ or you might be the partner of someone who has had one or more of these experiences. Alternatively, your friend or family member might be affected by pregnancy loss and you want ideas on how to comfort them. Or you might work in healthcare, for a charity, or be a therapist wishing to provide better pregnancy loss care. ¿ Here you¿ll find practical advice and self-care strategies to help you cope during or after pregnancy loss. Plus ideas that will enable you to make sense of what¿s happened ¿ including explaining different ways you may feel; outlining what you can expect during and after your loss; how to navigate physical and mental health care (if appropriate); considering the choices you may need to make; and, if you want to, thinking about how to remember your baby. ¿ This book is designed to help you feel like you are not going through your loss alone. It is a reminder that we all react ¿ and cope ¿ in different ways; and respects diverse needs when it comes to getting information, support, and care. While it is not a replacement of healthcare or therapy, it signposts you to other sources of support that can assist you. With straightforward information, reflection exercises, self-help resources, and other people¿s stories about how they coped with loss, you should feel better able to understand what is happening to you and more confident about seeking additional help if needed.
2018
ISBN 1138047732
Call Number: 618.392BOY Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
The Unspeakable Loss by
A guide to hope and healing after the death of a child, from a grief counselor and psychotherapist who has been there. Nisha Zenoff lost her son in a tragic accident when he was just seventeen years old. Now, with decades of experience as a grief counselor and psychotherapist, she offers support and guidance from her own journey and from others who have experienced the death of a child. The Unspeakable Loss helps those who mourn to face the urgent questions that accompany loss: "Will my tears ever stop?" "Who am I now without my child?" "How can I help my other children cope?" "I lost my only child, how do I live?" "Will my marriage survive?" "Will life ever feel worth living again?" No matter where you are in your grieving process, The Unspeakable Loss provides a space to mourn in your own way, and helps you understand how the death of a child affects siblings, other family members and friends, recognizing that we each grieve differently. And while there is no one prescription for healing, Zenoff provides tools to practice the important aspects of grieving that are easily forgotten--self-compassion and self-care. The Unspeakable Loss doesn't flinch from the reality or pain caused by the death of a child, yet ultimately it is a book about the choice to embrace life, love, and joy again. As Zenoff writes in the Preface: "Our relationships with our children do not end with their deaths. Our relationships change, they're transformed, but our children will always be with us."
ISBN 0738219754
2017
Call Number: copies on order
Caring for baby
General Baby Books
What to expect in the first year by
This comprehensive and practical month-by-month guide clearly explains everything parents need to know – or might be worrying about – in the first year with a new baby.
2009
9781471172090
Call Number: 305.232MUR
Sleep
The Baby Sleep Solution by
Lucy Wolfe, Ireland's leading sleep expert, introduces the stay-and-support method for parents who want to help their babies sleep through the night. With sleep-shaping supports for newborns, top tips for toddlers, and advice for older children up to the age of six, Lucy's approach provides a gentle and emotionally considerate way to get your little one to sleep - without leaving them alone to cry, ensuring they feel loved, safe and secure at all times. To date, this 98% effective method has helped over 4,000 parents, with most reporting improvements within the first seven days of introducing the recommendations. Now it's your turn! The Baby Sleep Solution will help you: Discover the issues that prevent your baby from sleeping through the night Tailor your own personal routine to suit your child's temperament Deal with real-life disruptions such as balancing feeding and sleep, landing the nap, returning to work, holidays, daycare, sickness and teething Develop good sleep habits that will last your baby a lifetime The Baby Sleep Solution provides all the support needed for both baby and you to get what everyone needs - a good night's sleep!
2017
ISBN 071717154X
Call Number: 649.1WOL Also available as an eBook click on title to access
Caring for toddlers
What to expect - toddler years
What to expect the second year by
The international super-successful What to Expectbrand has delivered again - announcing the arrival of a brand-new member of family: What to Expect the Second Year. This essential sequel to What to Expect the First Year picks up the action at baby's first birthday, and takes parents through what can only be called 'the wonder year' - 12 jam-packed (and jam-smeared) months of memorable milestones (from first steps to first words, first scribbles to first friends), lightning-speed learning, endless explorations driven by insatiable curiosity. Not to mention a year of challenges, both for toddlers and the parents who love them, but don't always love their behaviour (picky eating, negativity, separation anxiety, bedtime battles, biting, and tantrums).
Comprehensive, reassuring, empathetic, realistic and practical, What to Expect the Second Yearis filled with solutions, strategies, and plenty of parental pep talks. It helps parents decode the fascinating, complicated, sometimes maddening, always adorable little person last year's baby has become.
From the first birthday to the second, this must-have book covers everything parents need to know in an easy-to-access, topic-by-topic format, with chapters on growth, feeding, sleeping, behaviours of every conceivable kind, discipline (including teaching right from wrong), and keeping a toddler healthy and safe as he or she takes on the world. There's a developmental time line of the second year plus special 'milestone' boxes throughout that help parents keep track of their toddler's development. Thinking of travelling with tot in tow? There's a chapter for that, too.
2012
ISBN 9780857206701
Call Number: 649.122MUR Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Preparing for another arrival
Coping with Two by
Going from one to two children can seem daunting. If you're expecting your second child but already struggling to chase after a lively toddler, you're not alone in wondering how you will ever manage. Or perhaps your child is older and somewhat unenthusiastic about the prospect of a new brother or sister. Coping with Two takes second time mums from pregnancy and birth to the first day on your own with your new baby and older child. And it guides you through the weeks, months and years beyond, giving you all the practical advice and reassurance you'll need. The book includes: breastfeeding and toddler jealousy leaving the house on time without tears easy bed and bath time routines - that work! what to do when your eldest hits you and hates the baby how to prioritize when both children are crying teaching your children to get on with each other loving your children equally without favourites.
2012
ISBN 1848508123
Call Number: 649.143CAV Also available as an ebook click on title to access
Emotions - Coping books for Kids
Toddler emotions
The Emotional Life of the Toddler by
Now updated with new material throughout, Alicia F. Lieberman's The Emotional Life of the Toddler is the seminal, detailed look into the varied and intense emotional life of children aged one to three. Hailed as "groundbreaking" by The Boston Globe after its initial publication, the new edition includes the latest research on this crucial stage of development. Anyone who has followed an active toddler around for a day knows that a child of this age is a whirlwind of explosive, contradictory, and ever-changing emotions. Alicia F. Lieberman offers an in-depth examination of toddlers' emotional development, and illuminates how to optimize this crucial stage so that toddlers can develop into emotionally healthy children and adults. Drawing on her lifelong research, Dr. Lieberman addresses commonly asked questions and issues. Why, for example, is "no" often the favorite response of the toddler? How should parents deal with the anger they might feel when their toddler is being aggressively stubborn? Why does a crying toddler run to his mother for a hug only to push himself vigorously away as soon as she begins to embrace him? This updated edition also addresses twenty-first century concerns such as how to handle screen time on devices and parenting in a post-internet world. With the help of numerous examples and vivid cases, Lieberman answers these and other questions, providing, in the process, a rich, insightful profile of the roller coaster emotional world of the toddler.
2017
ISBN 9781476792033
Call Number: 649.122LIE Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Coping books for Kids
How Are You Feeling Today by
Children have strong feeling and they can't always handle them very well. Perfect for sharing, How Are You Feeling Today? is packed with fun, imaginative ways to help children understand and cope with a whole range of different emotions. This delightful book gives parents the tools they need to help their child deal with those feelings - without it all ending in tears!
A great dip-in book where children can choose a feeling that relates to them and then turn to the page that provides child-friendly strategies for dealing with that feeling. Helpful parent notes at the back of the book provide more ideas for parents to use with their child and other strategies to try out together and practice the all important skill of dealing with feelings.
2014
ISBN 9781472906090
Call Number: 152.4POT Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Kids and Pre-teen care
Building Resilience and Confidence
Kid Confidence by
Help your child cultivate real, lasting confidence! InKid Confidence, a licensed clinical psychologist and parenting expert offers practical, evidence-based parenting strategies to help kids foster satisfying relationships, develop competence, and make choices that fit who they are and want to become. As parents, it's heartbreaking to hear children say negative things about themselves. But as children grow older and begin thinking about the world in more complex ways, they also become more self-critical. Alarmingly, studies show that self-esteem, for many children, takes a sharp drop starting around age eight, and this decline continues into the early teen years. So, how can you turn the tide on this upsetting trend and help your child build genuine self-esteem? With this guide, you'll learn that self-esteem isn't about telling kids they're "special." It's about helping them embrace the freedom that comes with aquiet ego--a way of being in the world that isn't preoccupied with self-judgment, and instead embraces a compassionate view of oneself and others that allows for both present awareness and personal growth. When kids are less focused on evaluating and comparing themselves with others, they are freer to empathize with others, embrace learning, and connect with the values that are bigger than themselves. You'll also discover how your child's fundamental needs forconnection,competence, andchoice are essential for real self-esteem. Connection involves building meaningful and satisfying relationships that create a sense of belonging. Competence means building tangible skills. And choice is about being able to make decisions, figure out what matters, and choose to act in ways that are consistent with personal values. When children are able to fulfill these three basic needs, the question of "Am I good enough?" is less likely to come up. If your child is suffering from low self-esteem, you need a nuanced parenting approach. Let this book guide you as you help your child create unshakeable confidence and lasting well-being.
ISBN 1684030498
2019
Call Number: 155.4182KEN Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
The Friendship Maze by
Friendship battles among children have existed since the words ‘you can’t play with us’ were first uttered in the playground. But the worry is that today it seems there is no minimum age limit to being hurtful to others. Unkind or exclusive behaviour appears to be starting sooner than ever – even in nursery school – and continues throughout the school system. As a result, friendship issues top the list of parents’ concerns, and, from the other side of the school gates, they can often feel powerless.
This book will change that as parenting writer Tanith Carey analyses the increasingly complex social pressures changing the face of childhood, having drawn on extensive research on children's friendships, from toddlers to teens. She offers practical solutions for building your child’s social skills for a happier, more carefree childhood, including how to:
Help your child deal with classroom and social media politics.
Inoculate your child against the effects of peer-group pressure, cliquiness and exclusion.
Learn what’s really going on in your child’s social circle.
Bully-proof your child throughout school.
Work out when to step in and step out of your child’s conflicts.
Help your child make friends if they are stuck on the sidelines.
The Friendship Maze is suitable for ages three to sixteen.
ISBN 1786854953
2019
Call Number: 155.418CAR Also available as an eBook click on the title to access
Autism/ Aspergers
Asperkids by
As a parent, a teacher and an Aspie herself, Jennifer O'Toole provides the definitive insider's view of Asperger syndrome. She shows how to help children on the spectrum by understanding how they think and by exploiting their special interests to promote learning. Her strategies work because she thinks like the children that she teaches. This exciting book is full of effective and fun ways of engaging with children with Asperger syndrome. Jennifer explains how theory of mind difficulties create the need for concrete forms of communication, and provides original methods to inspire imagination through sensorial experiences. In particular she reveals the untapped power of special interests, showing how to harness these interests to encourage academic, social and emotional growth. Affirming that different doesn't mean defective, this book offers the insight and guidance that parents, educators, and other professionals need to connect with the Asperkids in their life and get them excited about learning.
ISBN 9780857006479
2012
Call Number: eBOOK click on the title to access
Parenting and Technology
Parenting Well in a Media Age by
This illuminating investigation takes a fresh look at the role of media in children's lives. An overview of the formidable challenges parents face and creative ways to overcome them are included, as are strategies for turning a home environment from "high-tech" to "high-touch." Moving beyond demonizing the media, this work, like none before it, articulates the difficulties of parenting in our depersonalized society. It offers hopeful alternatives for all parents wanting to protect children from, and teach children about, media's impact.
ISBN 1932181121
2004
Call Number: Ebook click on the title to access
Parental Wellbeing
Looking after yourself
The 10 Habits of Happy Mothers by
Arguing that many moms have gone overboard in their quest for perfection, the author presents ten 'new habits' that will help moms maintain their passion, purpose, and sanity. In separate chapters, Meeker addresses understanding your value as a mother, maintaining key friendships, and much more.
2011
ISBN 0345518063
Call Number: EBOOK click on title to access
