Parenting and Caring Collection & Staff Wellbeing: Introduction

This guide showcases UCD Library books on aspects of stages of parenting and caring for parents

Welcome

Welcome to the staff Parenting and Caring Libguide where you can browse support books on many of the significant challenges that arise personally through your career.

These offer reading support on topics concerning parenting and caring for others, ageing, retirement, illness and loss.

These are a wonderful reference point but always contact a medical professional for any advice, questions or additional support.

Make a suggestion

Don't see what you are looking for?

Feel free to send a suggestion of a title that we can consider for purchase to Susan.Boyle@ucd.ie in the Library.

Borrowing

Where are the books located?

The Parenting & Caring Collection is part of the Health and Wellbeing Collection which is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library. You can find the books located in the set of green shelves in the Library Hub area.

Print books

Printed books in this collection are available in the James Joyce Library. UCD staff and students can borrow these with your library card, simply take the book to the self-service machine or the desk to borrow it. If you are unable to locate a book, just ask a member of staff at the information desk who will be happy to assist.

Ebooks

Some of the books in this collection are available to read online as Ebooks - they have a blue title. To read these, just click on the blue title of the book, login using your UCD Connect username and password, then you can start reading.

Books already on loan

You can place a reservation via the Library's online catalogue and we will hold the book for you on its return. You can also check the Libguide to see if there is an alternative title on the same topic you might be interested in borrowing instead.

Staff Picks

Highlights

Parent Hacks by Asha Dornfest; Craighton Berman (Illustrator) "Just . . . genius."--Buzzfeed Life with kids just got easier with these 134 ingenious hacks developed by parents just like you. Put the ketchup under the hot dog, minimizing the mess. Strap baby into a forward-facing carrier when you need to trim her fingernails--it frees your hands while controlling the squirming. Or stash a wallet in a disposable diaper at the beach--who would ever poke through what looks like a used Pamper? All these hacks are easy to do, are boldly illustrated, and use everyday items in unexpected ways. And the range--from pregnancy and postpartum, through sleep, eating, bath time, travel, and more--covers all the most critical years when parents really need a little extra help. ISBN 0761184317 2016
Call Number: 649.1DOR
The Informed Parent by Tara Haelle; Emily Willingham In the era of questionable Internet 'facts' and parental oversharing, it's more important than ever to find credible information on everything from prenatal vitamins to screen time. The good news is that parents and parents-to-be no longer need to rely on an opinionated mother-in-law about whether it's OK to eat sushi in your third trimester, an old college roommate for sleep-training 'rules,' or an online parenting group about how long you should breastfeed (there's a vehement group for every opinion). Credible scientific studies are out there - and they're 'bottom-lined' in this book. The ultimate resource for today's science-minded generation,The Informed Parentwas written for readers who prefer facts to 'friendly advice,' and who prefer to make up their own minds, based on the latest findings as well as their own personal preferences. Science writers and parents themselves, authors Tara Haelle and Emily Willingham have sifted through thousands of research studies on dozens of essential topics, and distill them in this essential and engaging book. Topics include- Home birth * Labor induction * Vaginal birth vs. Cesarean birth * Circumcision * Postpartum depression * Breastfeeding * Vaccines * Sleep training * Pacifiers * SIDS * Bed-sharing * Potty training * Childhood obesity * Food sensitivities and allergies * BPA and plastics * GMOs vs. organic foods * The hygiene hypothesis * Spanking * Daycare vs. other childcare options 'Accessible and informative . . . For anyone headed into parenthood, this is a must-read, as it answers so many questions new parents are bound to ask.'Kirkus Reviews 'The book shines with clear explanations of the reasoning behind common hospital practices such as labor induction, vitamin K shots, and taking Apgar scores, including up-to-date summaries of the sometimes overwhelming-data surrounding giving birth and infant care choices. Subjects of controversy, such as allergies and sleep training, receive in-depth, scientifically minded treatment.'Publishers Weekly 2016 ISBN 9780399171062
Call Number: 649.1HAE
The Book you wish your parents had read by Phillippa Perry In this absorbing, clever and funny book, renowned psychotherapist Philippa Perry tells us what really matters and what behaviour it is important to avoid - the vital dos and don'ts of parenting. Instead of mapping out the 'perfect' plan, Perry offers a big-picture look at the elements that lead to good parent-child relationships. This refreshing, judgement-free book will help you to: · Understand how your own upbringing may affect your parenting · Accept that you will make mistakes and learn what you can do about them · Break negative cycles and patterns · Handle your own and your child's feelings · Understand what different behaviours communicate Full of sage and sane advice, this is the book that every parent will want to read and every child will wish their parents had. 2019 ISBN 0241250994
Call Number: 649.1PER
Carer's Bible by Amanda Waring "Let us recognise that those who are ending their lives in the frailty of old age deserve the same care and attention as those who are beginning their lives in the vulnerability of infancy."This accessible and detailed guide includes practical tips, checklists for best practice, descriptions of their experience from a wide range of carers that addresses solutions to common problems and expert advice on how to deliver compassionate and dignified care to older people. It is easy to read and provides anecdotal experience from carers and tips from the experts.The Carer's Bible covers topics such as:HOW TO ENSURE DIGNIFIED CAREHOW TO SUPPORT PERSONAL CARE AND DAILY LIVINGHOW TO CARE FOR SOMEONE WITH DEMENTIAHOW TO CARE FOR YOURSELF AND PREVENT BURNOUTHOW TO SUPPORT EMOTIONAL AND SPIRITUAL NEEDSHOW TO SUPPORT CREATIVITY AND ACTIVITYHOW TO CARE AS RELATIVES FOR LOVED ONESHOW TO GIVE COMPASSIONATE END OF LIFE CARE Uniquely, Amanda Waring also provides support and guidance for the carer, how to maintain energy and commitment, how to recognise the signs of compassion fatigue and where carers can get help if they need it. The Carer's Bible is essential reading for anyone who cares for an elderly person, whether as a professional or as a loved one, in its promotion of the role dignity and respect should play. This accessible and detailed guide includes practical tips, checklists for best practice, descriptions of their experience from a wide range of carers that addresses solutions to common problems and expert advice on how to deliver compassionate and dignified care to older people. Uniquely, Amanda Waring also provides support and guidance for the carer, how to maintain energy and commitment, how to recognise signs of compassion fatigue and where carers can get help if they need it. 2018 ISBN 0285643991
Call Number: 649.80846WAR
It's Ok That You're Not Ok by Megan Devine; Mark Nepo As seen in THE NEW YORK TIMES * READER'S DIGEST * SPIRITUALITY & HEALTH * HUFFPOST Featured on NPR's RADIO TIMES and WISCONSIN PUBLIC RADIO When a painful loss or life-shattering event upends your world, here is the first thing to know: there is nothing wrong with grief. "Grief is simply love in its most wild and painful form," says Megan Devine. "It is a natural and sane response to loss." So, why does our culture treat grief like a disease to be cured as quickly as possible? In It's OK That You're Not OK, Megan Devine offers a profound new approach to both the experience of grief and the way we try to help others who have endured tragedy. Having experienced grief from both sides--as both a therapist and as a woman who witnessed the accidental drowning of her beloved partner--Megan writes with deep insight about the unspoken truths of loss, love, and healing. She debunks the culturally prescribed goal of returning to a normal, "happy" life, replacing it with a far healthier middle path, one that invites us to build a life alongside grief rather than seeking to overcome it. In this compelling and heartful book, you'll learn: * Why well-meaning advice, therapy, and spiritual wisdom so often end up making it harder for people in grief * How challenging the myths of grief--doing away with stages, timetables, and unrealistic ideals about how grief should unfold--allows us to accept grief as a mystery to be honored instead of a problem to solve * Practical guidance for managing stress, improving sleep, and decreasing anxiety without trying to "fix" your pain * How to help the people you love--with essays to teach us the best skills, checklists, and suggestions for supporting and comforting others through the grieving process Many people who have suffered a loss feel judged, dismissed, and misunderstood by a culture that wants to "solve" grief. Megan writes, "Grief no more needs a solution than love needs a solution." Through stories, research, life tips, and creative and mindfulness-based practices, she offers a unique guide through an experience we all must face--in our personal lives, in the lives of those we love, and in the wider world. It's OK That You're Not OK is a book for grieving people, those who love them, and all those seeking to love themselves--and each other--better. 2017 ISBN 9781622039074
Call Number: 155.93DEV
Nearing the end of life by Sue Brayne , Dr Peter Fenwick Before the Second World War few of us would have reached adolescence without someone loved dying at home. However tragic and unwelcome, death was accepted as part of life. In our modern, progressive world, death has been more or less hidden away in hospitals, nursing homes and hospices. Consequently, many people can be very fearful and completely unprepared to sit with a dying person, or understand the emotional and spiritual impact this can have on them. Nearing the End of Life is a practical guide to help relatives and friends to overcome their anxiety of the unknown. It explains what happens as someone enters their dying process, and describes the physical changes that occur when death is nearing. It also provides valuable advice about what the dying may need, how to open up difficult conversations, and what to expect when medical staff suggest that life-prolonging treatments need to be withdrawn. Finally, it offers guidance to those experiencing family feuds and grievances, and advice for friends on how best to support the dying person and their relatives. 2018 ISBN 1785452479
Call Number: 155.937BRA
Loss of a Parent by Theresa Jackson #1 Best-Selling Author on Grief and Narcissism Expert guidance, healing exercises and experience from others who have lost a parent. Theresa Jackson lost her father in 2007 and has since put together useful clinical and healing resources for others in the same position, to help them recover. With an Masters degree in clinical research, Theresa has combined the latest theories and practices on loss, with effective meditations and exercises so that you can honor and remember your lost parent, all the while processing your grief in a healthy way. Sharing hers and others' personal journeys of coming to terms with the loss of a parent, she hopes to help more bereaved adult children on their healing journeys. "Loss of a Parent, Adult Grief when Parents Die" combines a personal approach with expert guidance and informed grief exercises, to make readers feel less alone and more informed about what they might experience next. "Loss of a Parent" will help you to: Feel less isolated in your grief, by reading the stories of how other people felt, and how they dealt with their loss Understand that it's okay to have confusing or unexpected thoughts and emotions, that people react differently to losing a parent, and that you are most likely 'normal' in how you're feeling Gain some context by learning about the 7 stages of grief, which stage you might be in currently, and get an idea about what you might experience next Understand how complicated or prolonged grief is common, and gain insight into how to try and move on Guided exercises will help you work through your grief in a healthy way Other people are saying... "This is such a good book for this difficult time. When my father passed away even though we had some indication of his declining health nothing could really prepare m for the tsunami of feelings. I belonged to a church and they were supportive but there was very little reading material at hand and this book would have been a valuable aid to help me understand or anticipate the effects of bereavement" "I bought this book after recently losing my mum. It is a very easy book to read and understand. I found that I could relate to both the experiences of the author and other case studies easily and it made me feel less alone at a very difficult time. The book addresses all the little issues (practical and emotional) that you may not be able to talk to others about." "I can relate to the Theresa's story, as well as the other stories recounted in the book. I still have feelings about my father's death that I need to process, and with my father's birthday coming up, I need a book like this one to help guide me." "Even in the best of families' conflict can tear the fabric of the family apart and I appreciated the guidance. Without giving too much away. The author's writing was clear and helpful. It felt as if I was getting guidance from a friend and appreciate this book. Thank you!" Get your copy today. 2016 ISBN 1973365634
Call Number: 155.937JAC
Aging Well by George E. Vaillant In a unique series of studies, Harvard University has followed 824 subjects from their teens to old age. Professor George Vaillant now uses these to illustrate the surprising factors involved in reaching happy, healthy old age. 2003 ISBN 0316090077
Call Number: copies on order
The Little Book of Retirement by Freddie Green You know you're retired when... People from work keep phoning up asking where on earth you put important documents. The joys of retirement are many and varied, so read on to discover what makes these golden years so golden! 2016 ISBN 9781849538510
Call Number: 646.790207GRE
What to expect when you're expecting by Heidi Murkoff What to Expect When You're Expecting answers every conceivable question expectant parents could have, including dozens of new ones based on the ever-changing pregnancy and birthing practices, and choices they face. ISBN 9781471147524 2017
Call Number: 618.24MUR
Back to Work after Baby by Lori Mihalich-Levin There are books out there on every baby-related topic imaginable. But how about one that helpsyou plan your return to work, ease your concerns and fears about the transition so you can focus on your baby, introduce you to a community of otherreturning-to-work mamas, and empower you to make calm and thoughtful choices? Back to Work After Baby fills this much-needed gap. Whether you are a brand new mom wondering how this return from maternity leave will go or it's your second or third return, Back to Work After Baby will inspire you with new ideas on how to approach the return with a healthy mindset, tackle all those logistics, view your leave and return as a leadership opportunity, and commit to staying in community with other working mamas. 2017 ISBN 0692821635
Call Number: 306.8743MIH