- Student Guides
- Politics & International Relations
- Journal Articles & Databases
Politics & International Relations: Journal Articles & Databases
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles
Watch a short tutorial on how to search for information on a subject in JSTOR:
If you you are having trouble viewing this video try this alternative link.
Key Databases for Politics
Databases allow you to search across a range of different journals, books and other publications for information on a specific topic. Databases contain peer-reviewed, scholarly material. Links to the full-text will be provided, where available, by UCD Library.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowThe Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Over 1,700+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Pentagon Papers, the U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, and World Constitutions Illustrated
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-VII, XI-XII; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences Collection.
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
- Where to Start
- Books & eBooks
- Journal Articles & Databases
- Key Websites
- Development Studies
- Government & EU Information
- Datasets & Statistics
- Citing Information & Avoiding Plagiarism
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
- Last Updated: Mar 10, 2023 9:54 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/politics
- Print Page