Skip to Main Content

Business: Approaching your Research Topic

This guide provides a starter point for finding Business information.

Ebooks for Business Writing & Research

Approaching your research question

Data Set Sources

Open Access Data Resources

The AIRO Data Store has been created by the team at AIRO and NIRSA as a means of making our working data more accessible to the public. Rather than just dumping out masses of raw data we have taken the time to clean it up, add extra value and hopefully make it as useful to you as possible. Our main trick is to ensure it has a spatial element for use in a GIS. There are many data-sets available from a wide range of sources and sectors (CSO, NISRA, all-island census, crime, economy, live register etc) and everything is set up at the national or all-island scale.

The Open Data listed in data.gov.ie is published by Irish Government Departments and Public Bodies. Many datasets are individually published and updated by public organisations. Other datasets are harvested daily from existing, domain-specific data catalogues. Data.gov.ie currently harvests data from the Irish Spatial Data Exchange, Dublinked, Central Statistics Office, Ordnance Survey Ireland, Health Service Executive, Cork City, Galway City Council, Galway County Council, Roscommon County Council, Department of Housing Planning and Local Government.

 

Dataset Search is a search engine for data sets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover data sets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web.

The eHealth Ireland Open Data Portal makes it easy to find and access data from across the Irish Health Sector. This includes information on available health services, statistics on hospital cases and national waiting lists, and performance of new digital initiatives, such as eReferrals. Through the National and Regional Open Data Portals, you can access raw Public Sector data, and gain insights into the operation of public organisations and services.

UN Data is a web-based data service for the global user community.  Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the wider statistical community.  The IMF provides data by country, by indicator, popular datasets such as Principal Global Indicators, balance of payments, direction of trade statistics, coordinated portfolio investment survey, financial soundness indicators, international financial statistics, Government Financial Statistics, World revenue longitudinal data. Other Popular data sets include World Economic Outlook, Global Financial Stability Report, Fiscal Monitor, IMF Data Mapper, IMF Finances and SDR’s per Currency Unit, Monitoring of Fund Arrangements, Global Housing Watch, Public Sector Debt Statistics and G-20 Surveillance Notes.

The IEA collects, assesses and disseminates energy statistics on supply and demand, compiled into energy balances in addition to a number of other key energy-related indicators, including energy prices, public RD&D and measures of energy efficiency, with other measures in development. This emphasis on sound data provides a unique platform for modelling work and tracking both short-term shifts and long-term trends in countries’ energy transitions, particularly for clean energy.

Use the OECD to find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications on topics like Agriculture Energy Development, Economy, Education, Environment, Finance, Government, Health, Innovation, Technology, Jobs and Society.

The site hosts datasets published by Transport Infrastructure Ireland.

At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Working closely with the Bank's regions and Global Practices, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced. Much of the data comes from the statistical systems of member countries and the quality of global data depends on how well these national systems perform.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade. This portal gives access to a selection of key databases offering statistics and information on different trade-related measures under its purview.

Research Cycle