Business: Databases for Business

This guide provides a starter point for finding Business information.

Database Highlight

IBIS World Database provides:

Information and analysis on more than 700 industries worldwide
Global industry reports.
Industry research reports for Ireland, UK, US and more
Global Business research reports

PDF Poster of IBIS World

What is the best database for my project?

PDF of the Business Guide to Databases

Key Database for Business

ABI/INFORM Global

ABI/INFORM Global™ is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 3,040 publications, with more than 2,060 available in full text.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

Emerald Insight

Large comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed management journals. 110 full text journals and reviews from the top 300 management journals.

FAME: UK and Irish financial company information and business intelligence

FAME is a database that contains information for companies in the UK and Ireland. FAME contains information on 3.4 million companies, 2.4 million of which are in a detailed format.

MarketLine Advantage is an interactive subscription platform offering a comprehensive and unique collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across every major marketplace worldwide.

Mintel

Mintel's published market research has been helping leading businesses achieve their goals for over 30 years.

Passport (Euromonitor International)

International statistical information and market analysis. Access information by country, company, consumer market/lifestyle etc.

JoVE Unlimited

A multidisciplinary resource of peer-reviewed articles with text description and video demonstration of experiments. JoVE also publishes educational and instructional videos for use in the classroom and lab.

New Business Databases

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. The platform provides access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets. **PLEASE NOTE: Excessive or automated downloading of articles is not permitted and may result in termination of access by the publisher.**
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides direct access to quantitative data (statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers and industry reports) on media, business, finance, agriculture, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes current infographics and many links to original full text reports. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
SAGE Research Methods Core Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students from all disciplines with their research projects.