Skip to Main Content

GIS at UCD and on the Web: ArcGIS

UCD Library GIS Guide

Accessing ArcGIS Online in UCD

ArcGIS Online is a web-based system for sharing, finding, and using maps, layers, and services. It includes a set of basemaps, map layers, and tools published by Esri for use inside ArcGIS products.

 

 

To sign into ArcGIS Online click on this link:  http://ucdireland.maps.arcgis.com

           Type in your Username and Password and click on Sign In

Your Username will need to be set up by IT Services in UCD

UCD staff and students can request a username for ArcGIS Online by submitting a request via the Get Help link on UCD's IT Support Hub page

 https://fujitsuireland.service-now.com/itucd 

 

Details about MapGenie are in this section libguides.ucd.ie/findingmaps/MapGenie

Learning ArcGIS Online

For a demo and short overview of ArcGIS Online you can sign in and watch this Esri webinar 'Creating simple online mapping applications'

Another useful Esri resource is Try ArcGIS Online

ArcGIS Pro

ArcGIS Pro is a Geographic Information System (GIS) programme that lets you work with maps and geographic information on your own  computer. It helps create, analyse, and visualise maps and to explore and analyse the relationships between different features on the map, helping solve location-based problems and make informed decisions.

ArcGIS Pro has a user-friendly desktop-based interface that is  organised into multiple components, providing users with a variety of tools and options to create, analyse, and manage geospatial data. 

 

Features of ArcGIS Pro  
Advanced Geospatial Analysis ArcGIS Pro provides a comprehensive collection of advanced geospatial analysis tools.  Users can perform complex spatial operations, model building, and statistical analysis. It offers more extensive analytical capabilities compared to the simplified analysis options available in ArcGIS Online.
Offline Data Editing and Processing ArcGIS Pro is a desktop GIS application, which means you can work and edit projects offline without the need for an internet connection. 
3D Visualisation and Analysis ArcGIS Pro allows users to create and analyse 3D scenes, view terrain data, conduct line-of-sight analysis, and perform 3D spatial queries. While ArcGIS Online also has some 3D capabilities, ArcGIS Pro provides a more extensive and immersive 3D experience.
Customisation and Automation ArcGIS Pro offers extensive customisation options through Python scripting, ArcPy, and integration with the ArcGIS Pro SDK. This allows developers and GIS professionals to automate tasks, build custom tools, and tailor the software to specific workflows, which is not as feasible with ArcGIS Online.
Larger Data Processing Capabilities ArcGIS Pro can handle larger datasets and perform more complex data processing tasks than ArcGIS Online. This is due to the greater processing power and resources available on desktop computers compared to web-based systems, making ArcGIS Pro a better choice for heavy data manipulation and large-scale analyses.
Printing and Saving JPEGs in ArcGIS Pro

ArcGIS Pro provides a layout view, where you can create professional map  compositions with precise control over map elements, cartographic elements, and design.

Both ArcGIS Online and ArcGIS Pro allow you to export maps as JPEG images, but ArcGIS Pro provides more advanced and customisable options due to its desktop-based nature. 

ArcGIS Desktop

From August 2023 ArcGIS Desktop (ArcMap) is no longer available within UCD. Licences for ArcGIS Desktop expired at the end of July 2023 and new licences to use it are no longer being issued. Esri (the software company which creates ArcGIS) is ceasing its support for this product.

Instead, UCD staff, students, researchers should use either ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Pro.  To access ArcGIS Online and / or ArcGIS Pro you will need an ArcGIS account.

To get this set up by UCD’s IT Services go to the IT Support Hub page, click on the Request Something option, then click on Contact Us and fill in the form (You need to log into your UCD Connect to access this page)


Your UCD ArcGIS Account will allow you to log into ArcGIS Online here (no software download is required): https://ucdireland.maps.arcgis.com/

To access the latest version of ArcGIS Pro you will need to install it from the IT Services Software Downloads page.

After downloading ArcGIS Pro, to open it you will need your ArcGIS Account details and UCD's ArcGIS organisation's URL https://ucdireland.maps.arcgis.com/

 
You can import ArcGIS Desktop (ArcMap) maps you previously created into ArcGIS Pro (this will work without a licenced version of ArcGIS Desktop or even if ArcGIS Desktop has been uninstalled from your device)

 Esri have outlined the reasons for moving to ArcGIS Pro in this document

Learning ArcGIS

For further guides, links to tutorials and information about ArcGIS courses go to this page:

Mapping and GIS tutorials & courses

For information about ArcGIS courses and modules in UCD go to this page:

Learn GIS at UCD

Each year, Esri (Environmental Systems Research Institute) runs free Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) for ArcGIS products, to find these, go to this page and type MOOC into the search box:

www.esri.com/training/catalog/search/ 

ArcGIS Online

ArcGIS Online is an online platform and a Geographic Information System (GIS) programme, it has a user-friendly web-based interface that allows users to interact with maps, data, and various tools through a standard web browser. Users can explore and create interactive maps using real-world geographic data. You can use it to visualise data, and share your results / maps with others.

Features of ArcGIS Online  
Web-Based Collaboration and Sharing ArcGIS Online is a cloud-based platform that allows users to share maps, data, and applications easily with others. Collaboration is seamless, enabling multiple users to work together on shared projects and maps in real-time, regardless of their physical location.
User-Friendly Interface ArcGIS Online has a user-friendly interface that requires minimal GIS expertise, making it accessible to a wider range of users, including non-GIS professionals. Its intuitive design allows users to quickly create maps and applications without the need for extensive training.
Easy Data Management ArcGIS Online handles the storage and management of geospatial data. With cloud storage, it can easily accommodate large datasets, and users can access their data from any device with an internet connection. 
Ready-Made Content and Apps ArcGIS Online offers a vast library of ready-to-use content, including basemaps, demographic data, and various GIS datasets. It also provides a collection of configurable applications that allow users to create interactive and informative maps without any coding
Printing and Saving JPEGs in ArcGIS Online

In ArcGIS Online, you can export your web map as an image in JPEG format by using the "Export Map" option. This option allows you to capture the current extent of the map and save it as a static image.

ArcGIS Online provides a layout view which allows you to create and print  sophisticated map compositions with titles, legends, and other elements.