Skip to main content

GIS at UCD and on the Web: Introduction

UCD Library GIS Guide

GIS and Mapping Support Services

This guide provides information on GIS and Mapping Services in UCD Library

Install ArcGIS 10.7

ArcGIS 10.7 is suitable for installation on PCs only (see note on Macs in the instructions below) and the minimum required computer specifications for installing ArcGIS 10.7 are as follows:

2 GB RAM minimum or higher 
Display Properties 24 bit color depth 
Screen Resolution 1024 x 768 recommended or higher at Normal size (96dpi) 
Swap Space Determined by the operating system, 500 MB minimum. 
Disk Space 2.8 GB 

 

Twitter Feed

GeoDirectory Presentation

Following a number of enquiries from various UCD schools and units regarding GeoDirectory, UCD Library arranged a visit from a GeoDirectory representative which took place on Tuesday 26th November at 1pm in Library Link 3 on the ground floor of the James Joyce Library.

 Steve Grover from GeoDirectory gave an outline of the products available. If you couldn't attend this event but would like to register your interest in GeoDirectory please email jane.nolan@ucd.ie

GeoDirectory was established by An Post and Ordnance Survey Ireland over 20 years ago to manage and maintain a database used as the de-facto standard of addressing in Ireland. The database contains every residential and commercial building in Ireland with details for each address - location codes (3 types), EDs, Small Areas and Unique Building Identifier. As well as information such as the type of property (Terraced/ Semi Detached, Industrial Unit,  etc),other details include whether  the property is a new build, occupied, vacant or derelict and the type of business being undertaken in the building if it is commercial.

See this example from the UCD School of Business of using GeoDirectory in research  Quantifying Local Transport Needs & Access Levels‚Äč

At the meeting we would like to ascertain interest within UCD for access to GeoDirectory. The most cost effective way to facilitate access to GeoDirectory would be to purchase a campus-wide licence. A full corporate licence would give GeoDirectory access for an unlimited number of UCD users.

Although UCD Library is not in a position to fund this, UCD Library can help organise setting up a campus-wide licence.

If a sufficient number of interested parties can make a contribution to the annual GeoDirectory subscription fee, UCD Library can help with the co-ordination of a buying pool.

This information session will also provide an opportunity to discuss questions which might arise, for example:

·         Can IT Services provide access to GeoDirectory via their Software Applications website.

·         The possibility of schools / units committing to a 2 or 3 year period where they make a contribution to the subscription cost.

·         Would a compilation of statistics of usage per school / unit be possible and / or useful.

 

 

Help@UCD: Library Workshops

UCD School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, students participating in workshops with text Book a Workshop

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Service - Impact Case Study

The application of Geographic Information  Systems (GIS) to research has two key benefits:

it facilitates the analysis of data through visualisation

and it provides a method for disseminating research findings in an accessible and impactful way.

Read more about GIS in this UCD Library Impact Case Study - click on the image on the right to open this document.

 

Acknowledgements

With thanks to Dr Ainhoa González Del Campo for her suggestions and assistance.

One-to-One Support

Maps & GIS Librarian

Jane Nolan's picture
Jane Nolan
Contact:
Jane Nolan
Maps & GIS Librarian
Room R250, Level 2
James Joyce Library
University College Dublin
Belfield
Dublin 4

Tel: 01 716 7532 / 2796

jane.nolan@ucd.ie

Other Related Guides Available