GIS at UCD and on the Web: Introduction
GIS and Mapping Support Services
This guide provides information on GIS and Mapping Services in UCD Library
Install ArcGIS 10.7
ArcGIS 10.7 is suitable for installation on PCs only (see note on Macs in the instructions below) and the minimum required computer specifications for installing ArcGIS 10.7 are as follows:
2 GB RAM minimum or higher
Display Properties 24 bit color depth
Screen Resolution 1024 x 768 recommended or higher at Normal size (96dpi)
Swap Space Determined by the operating system, 500 MB minimum.
Disk Space 2.8 GB
UCD School of Geography Brown Bag Seminar Series
The School of Geography kindly invites you to a 'Brown Bag' GIS seminar on the 25th of February. (Bring your lunch along). The seminar will include short presentations from the following speakers, followed by a discussion around the interdisciplinary use of GIS.
The seminar will take place at 1:00pm on Tuesday 25th of February in Room E003 of the School of Geography. All are welcome.
Usman Ali - UCD Energy Institute - 'GIS-based multi-scale residential building energy modelling : an Irish case study'
Paul Alexander - Central Statistics Office - 'How the CSO employs GIS for the Census of Population'
Shanghamitra Chattopadhyay - UCD School of Economics - 'Using GIS to better understand renewable energy technology uptake in Ireland'
Mairead de Roiste - 'Victorica University of Wellington, NZ - 'Virtual reality wetlands : a collaborative VR project'
Following a number of enquiries from various UCD schools and units regarding GeoDirectory, UCD Library arranged a visit from a GeoDirectory representative which took place on Tuesday 26th November at 1pm in Library Link 3 on the ground floor of the James Joyce Library.
Steve Grover from GeoDirectory gave an outline of the products available. If you couldn't attend this event but would like to register your interest in GeoDirectory please email firstname.lastname@example.org
GeoDirectory was established by An Post and Ordnance Survey Ireland over 20 years ago to manage and maintain a database used as the de-facto standard of addressing in Ireland. The database contains every residential and commercial building in Ireland with details for each address - location codes (3 types), EDs, Small Areas and Unique Building Identifier. As well as information such as the type of property (Terraced/ Semi Detached, Industrial Unit, etc),other details include whether the property is a new build, occupied, vacant or derelict and the type of business being undertaken in the building if it is commercial.
See this example from the UCD School of Business of using GeoDirectory in research Quantifying Local Transport Needs & Access Levels
At the meeting we would like to ascertain interest within UCD for access to GeoDirectory. The most cost effective way to facilitate access to GeoDirectory would be to purchase a campus-wide licence. A full corporate licence would give GeoDirectory access for an unlimited number of UCD users.
NEWS UPDATE: We are pleased to announce that in January 2020 UCD Library will organise the funding and subscription to GeoDirectory
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Service - Impact Case Study
The application of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to research has two key benefits:
With thanks to Dr Ainhoa González Del Campo for her suggestions and assistance.