GIS at UCD and on the Web: GeoDirectory
Request GeoDirectory Data
Complete this online application: GeoDirectory Data Request Form
When the form is completed click on the Submit button to send your request and within 48 hours you will receive the GeoDirectory files which are in CSV format. No other formats are available via this UCD Library service.
Current version available: Q422 released January 2023
You can request either the full set of current data or you can request an older dataset (from 2016) for counties Leitrim and Roscommon which can be used for classroom teaching
GeoDirectory data may be used for academic research by UCD staff and researchers. This includes research funded by, for example, Science Foundation Ireland, Environmental Protection Agency, UCD Foundation and the Irish Research Council.
GeoDirectory data MUST NOT be used for profit or by commercial entities such as those based in NOVAUCD.
GeoDirectory may be used in demonstrations, displays, conference presentations, webinars, theses and research papers (both internal and published), providing a suitable reference and / or logo to the source is displayed on the output.
- You may NOT publish details which include full addresses or will identify specific households / businesses
- You may NOT share / give access to GeoDirectory data for classroom use by undergraduates (a separate older file of data (from 2016) is available for this use, and can be requested via the online application form)
A revised version of the GeoDirectory database is available every quarter : April (Q1), July (Q2), October (Q3), January (Q4). Each release has a unique name in the following format, e.g. Q419. The release date for Q419 = January 2020.
For further information you can access the GeoDirectory Technical Manual via your UCD Connect account.
Request GeoBuilding Intel Data
Complete this online application: GeoDirectory Data Request Form
Select the GeoBuilding Intel option.
When the form is completed click on the Submit button to send your request and within 48 hours you will receive the GeoBuilding Intel files which are in CSV format. No other formats are available via this UCD Library service.
GeoBuilding Intel provides details on residential and commercial buildings, including the year or range of build year, the building's height, BER rating, the number of floors, its area in square metres, the sale price (if it has been sold within the last 3 years). This information has been sourced from An Post, OSi, Property Service Regulatory Authority (PRSA) and Sustainable Energy Ireland (SEI).
This dataset is updated annually - the most recent dataset is from June 2022.
The product is described here on GeoDirectory's website: www.geodirectory.ie/products-services/geobuilding-intel
This video from GeoDirectory gives more information about this product (start at 7:05 minutes into the video for the relevant section).
WHAT IS GEODIRECTORY?
The purpose of GeoDirectory is to create a definitive reference directory of addresses in Ireland and to assign to them accurate postal and geographic addresses.
A postal address is the address used to enable delivery of mail. A geographic address is a combination of East and North values which accurately position a building on the surface of the Earth.
Geographic addresses, also known as geo-codes, are commonly used by Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to position addresses on maps.
GeoDirectory combines accurate postal and geographic addresses for Ireland in one database.
GeoDirectory was established by An Post and Ordnance Survey Ireland to manage and maintain a database used as the de-facto standard of addressing in Ireland, the first set of data released dates from 1998. The database contains every residential and commercial building in Ireland with details for each address - location codes (3 types), EDs, Small Areas and Unique Building Identifier.
As well as information such as the type of property (Terraced/ Semi Detached, Industrial Unit, etc), other details include whether the property is a new build, occupied, vacant or derelict and the type of business being undertaken in the building if it is commercial.
GeoDirectory data includes NACE codes which is the European statistical classification of economic activities and organisations according to their business activities.
David Kelly- An Post
David Kelly is an Innovative senior leader with 30 years of experience across technology, digital, and AI, Marketing functions in transport, logistics and telecommunications companies in both state and private sectors.
Currently working in An Post, David is responsible for customer centric data & analytics innovation aiding An Post’s transformation journey towards being a Digital Corporation.
David’s talk will be around Data and Analytics maturity journey as well as key factors for success in the move to digitization and customer centric KPI’s for marketing.
Philip Kelly- Tailte Éireann
With Over 20 years’ experience in various IT, Data and Geospatial roles in both the public and private sectors. Philip’s current role is the Data Governance, Location, and Business Intelligence manager in Tailte Éireann – Valuation Division.
Philip has an in-depth understanding of Geospatial data and its importance and value as a data asset. He has recently completed a proof of concept project in conjunction with TUD’s Geographical Science course in digital twins and indoor mapping.
Rory Martin- SKY
The Director of Commercial Strategy at Sky, Rory is responsible for driving the vision for Sky Ireland. During his career he has conceived and led transformational change across telecoms, entertainment, and betting industries.
Rory’s key strength is the ability to interpret complicated analytics and translate them into simple stories that can be understood and actioned across all levels and functions in the business. Rory is passionate about driving more succinct and simple communications in business. He is a member of the Faculty at the Analytics Institute (Ireland) where he developed and delivers Modules on Storytelling and Presentation skills.
GeoDirectory Residential Buildings Report Q2 2022
This report presents data on the residential building stock using the GeoDirectory database of residential address points.
It includes facts, figures and analysis on:
- The Residential Dwellings Stock
- Buildings under Construction
- Number of Property Transactions
- Derelict Residential Units
- Construction Activity by County
- Numbers of New Addresses added to GeoDirectory by County
- Residential Property Prices by County
How to Use GeoDirectory
Some guides on running queries in GeoDirectory are given below - if you have a query that you would like some help with please contact email@example.com
- Using GeoDirectory Files in Microsoft AccessThis guide shows how to import GeoDirectory csv files into Microsoft Access and create a link between files. By linking the addresses file with the building file which has geocodes the resulting table can be saved for importing into ArcGIS.
- Identifying Vacant Buildings Using GeoDirectoryThis guide shows how to import GeoDirectory csv files into Microsoft Access and create a link between files. Further queries on buildings and addresses can then be run as shown in this example on vacant buildings.
- Run a Vacancy Query in GeoDirectory using SQLStep-by-step instructions with code included so that you can create a query to find vacant buildings or vacant addresses in a specific street or road.
- Find a business or organisation type by NACE in GeoDirectory using a SQL queryStep-by-step instructions with code included so that you can create a query to find a specific business type in GeoDirectory by NACE categories. See the Eurostat NACE publication below.
- NACE : Statistical Classification of Economic Activities in the European CommunityEurostat, European Commission, Published 2008. NACE is the acronym used to designate the various statistical classifications of economic activities developed since 1970 in the European Union.
- Visualise GeoDirectory Data on a Map in ArcGISThis guide shows how to import data from GeoDirectory which has been created using Access (see Guide above) into ArcGIS Desktop for viewing and visualising on a map.
GeoDirectory Case Studies in UCD
- Quantifying Local Transport Needs & Access LevelsThis poster from the Smurfit School of Business shows how GeoDirectory can be used for analytics in research.
- UCD - Enriching Research Through DataThe GeoDirectory website highlights some of the ways GeoDirectory has been successfully used in UCD.
UCD's Research Repository includes the following items, all of which used GeoDirectory data:
- Boosting Renewable Energy Technology Uptake in Ireland: A Machine Learning ApproachUCD Author : Sanghamitra Mukherjee
UCD School of Economics and UCD Energy Institute
- The usual suspects and usual spaces? People and place in complaints about Irish policeUCD Author : Brian Moss
UCD School of Sociology
- Coastal blue space and depression in older adultsUCD Author : Mel T Devine
UCD School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, UCD Energy Institute