Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Historical Maps - Worldwide
Find, access and purchase maps at UCD Library. Lists of map resources and suppliers on the web. Examples of map symbols and scales. Copyright and booking forms.
Historical Maps - Worldwide
- Africa - Gallica Digital CollectionsThe maps in this digital collection are arranged chronologically and geographically. Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France (The Bibliothèque nationale de France) and its partners.
- Ancient World Mapping CentreFree map downloads for areas including the Aegean, Byzantium, Egypt, Italy and Sicily, Spain and Portugal, the Roman Empire, etc. Also includes the Antiquity À-la-carte application which allows you create your own map.
- Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United StatesBy Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright. First published in1932. The 700 maps in the original printed publication have been digitised and animated to view the maps and data in a new way. Includes themes / topics such as crop production, voting patterns, city maps, population, the natural environment, military engagements, political and social events, etc
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThe collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.There are over 100,000 items online.
- Discover Maps, Unlock the PastExplore historical maps of Singapore and Southeast Asia. Hosted on a platform created by Yale-National University of Singapore. This website has over1400 maps covering pre-1900 Southeast Asia.
- Europe - Maps by Country - Gallica Digital CollectionsGallica is the digital library of the National Library of France (The Bibliothèque nationale de France) and its partners.
- Library of Congress - Map CollectionsIn the search box next to the Maps filter, type in the location / place name to find available maps.
- Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map and Chart CollectionThis website from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions. Click on the map or search by place name to see items available for that place - including bathymetric maps, nautical charts, aeronautical charts, cartographic and topographic maps.
- Old Maps OnlineThe OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date.
- Perry-Castañeda Library - Historical Map WebsitesThis website provides a list of links to a huge range of other websites which have historical maps.
- Perry-Castañeda Library - Historical Maps of EuropeA wide variety of maps are included in this collection, ranging from a topographical map of the Alps, a plan of Medieval Paris, maps of the Ottoman Empire, 1950s road maps of Europe, the Battle of Waterloo, etc
- University of Minnesota Libraries - James Bell Ford LibraryThe James Ford Bell Library includes a collection of more than 22,000 historical maps, and nearly a third of these are available online.
- USGS Historical Topographic Map ExplorerGeoreferenced topographic maps of the United States dating from 1882 to 2006, available as web viewable images and free, downloadable digital files.
- W H Pugsley Collection of Early Canadian MapsA range of maps dating from 1556 to 1857 available online from McGill University Libraries, Canada.
- Yale University Library - Digital CollectionsOver 12,000 historical maps are available online covering all parts of the globe.