Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Map Suppliers
Where you can Purchase Maps: A-F
Alan Godfrey Maps Includes around 50 maps for towns in Ireland from around the turn of the twentieth century.
Altea Gallery Holds antiquarian maps and atlases including an Irish section.
Art Source International has over 25,000 original antique maps and prints in stock.
Cartographica Neerlandica specialise in atlas maps by Ortelius
Collins Bartholomew Provides a comprehensive map production and digital mapping service with many Irish maps.
David Archer :Ordnance Survey Maps Small scale and large scale Ordnance Survey maps for England, Scotland and Wales. Military maps and books related to Ordnance Survey in the UK, but JH Andrews History in the Ordnance map : an introduction for Irish readers is also available to purchase.
Eneclann is a Trinity College Dublin campus company and publishes heritage and historical data. Maps for purchase include the 1851 Dublin City Census and other Irish historic maps.
Find My Past upon payment of a fee, have several resources available to view online:- Griffith's Valuation Survey Maps & Plans, covering nearly every townland in Ireland
Folding Landscapes deals with three areas around Galway:
- The Aran Islands
- The Burren
Where you can Purchase Maps: H-L
Harry Margary is a publisher of historic maps and sells facsimile copies of the City of Dublin 18th century Rocque maps.
Irish Genealogical Society International is an American site selling Irish maps.
The Irish Historic Town Atlas was established by the Royal Irish Academy in 1981 aiming to record the topographical development of a selection of large and small Irish towns. Each town is published separately and includes maps with detailed text.
Kennys Booksellers based in Galway who hold a large collection of antiquarian maps & prints and reproduction maps of Ireland.
The L Brown Collection of digitised maps includes a range of over 40 different map types for Ireland, from the earliest maps produced in the late 16th Century through to maps by cartographers such as Rocque, Duncan, Petty and Wren, the 1812 Bog Maps, major Ordnance Survey map series from the 1st edition of the 1840s and subsequent editions to 1910, including the Dublin Parish Maps produced in the 1860s and 1870s, and the unique topographical maps produced by the British Military at the start of the Second World War. Contact: firstname.lastname@example.org Listing of digitised maps and atlases available in the L Brown Collection
Extract from Monkstown Parish Map courtesy The L Brown Collection
Where you can Purchase Maps: M-Z
The Neptune Gallery is located at Shankill Castle, Shankill, Co Dublin. Tel: 01 2822139 or 087 2475372. Enquiries also by email Andrew Bonar Law at email@example.com or Charlotte Bonar Law at firstname.lastname@example.org. Specialists in Irish antiquarian maps and prints. Wide range of historical Irish maps and prints are available to purchase, including Ordnance Survey 25inch maps, Griffith bog maps, John Rocque maps, Dublin Parish maps, small-scale Ordnance Survey maps, Municipal Commission Boundary maps, etc. All available for viewing by appointment.
OMNI Map A major distributor of maps specialising in international mapping. Their holdings include maps of Ireland and Northern Ireland:
Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSi) is the official Irish mapping agency and produces maps in a variety of scales in paper and digital format. It provides:
- Aerial photography
- Digital Terrain Models
- Historical maps
- Urban, rural and tourism & leisure maps
Royal Irish Academy Sells facsimile copies of Alexander Taylor's 1783 map of County Kildare and John Rocque’s 1756 Map of Dublin
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License