Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: More Maps in UCD
Special Collections, UCD Library
Special Collections holds historical maps of Ireland and Dublin city and county. The collections can be consulted by the students and staff of UCD, and by external users, in the Special Collections Reading Room.
- Maps of Ireland by Ortelius dating from the 16th century
- Campbell’s Dublin map of 1811
- Ordnance survey 6-inch maps from 1846 (featuring every county in Ireland except Carlow)
- John Rocque maps of Dublin and Ireland, 18th century
UCD Digital Library
M. H. Gill & Son's Large Scale Map of the City of Dublin and its Environs, 1907
The UCD Digital Library allows you to search, browse and explore a growing collection of historical materials, including maps, that have been digitised and made freely available.
The Historic Maps Collection represents the 18th and 19th century historic maps acquired by UCD Library from various sources over time, including some maps originally owned by the Museum of Irish Industry Library.
- Copying and Downloading a Section of MapUsing screen shots this short PDF shows you how to zoom in, select, copy and download an area of map from one of the items in the Historic Maps Collection.
- Find and Print an 19th Century OSi MapThis gives step-by-step instructions on finding a map in the 19th Century Ordnance Survey Ireland Maps Collection available in the UCD Digital Library. It explains how to search for a map, and then save or print a map image.
School of Geography Map Collections
The School of Geography has a valuable collection containing over 15,000 maps. This has been growing since 1970 and consists of many of the principal map series relating to Ireland, most notably a complete set of the 1:10,560 maps, 1900 sheets covering the entire island. Other core components are an extensive range of thematic maps, e.g., soils and administrative boundaries and an extensive collection of historical maps. Some of these maps are now stored in cabinets in the Newman Building and others are held in the Barbara Miller Map Room in the School of Geography.
The list and brief details of the principal map series are available here Catalogue Listing of Map Collections
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License