Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Aerial and Ortho Mapping
Aerial Mapping from Ordnance Survey Ireland
Through the OSi’s National Mapping Agreement, Richview Library provides orthographic maps to staff and students of UCD. Orthophotographic maps are aerial photos that have been georectified, a process that removes the geographical distortions inherent in aerial photography.
|
There are several series available, and the output is in PDF format: UCD staff, students, researchers, tutors, etc., can go to this page for details of how to request these. The following series can be freely viewed via the Tailte Éireann GeoHive mapping viewer On the left side of the screen left click on the BaseMap Gallery icon
This opens a menu of maps, left click on the image of the mapping series you wish to make visible MapGenie Imagery (2013 - 2018) - Colour aerial photography flown between 2013 to 2018 MapGenie DigitalGlobe - Colour aerial photography flown between 2011 to 2013 MapGenie Imagery (2006 - 2012) - Colour aerial photography flown between 2006 to 2012 MapGenie Imagery (2001 - 2005) - Colour aerial photography flown between 2001 to 2005 MapGenie Imagery (1996 - 2000) - Colour aerial photography flown between 1996 to 2000 MapGenie Imagery (1995) - Black & White aerial photography
|
Aerial Mapping and Imagery Collections
This publication Air and Earth : Aerial Archaeology in Ireland by the Heritage Council provides information and guides to air photographic collections in Ireland.
- Bing MapsBing Maps offers imagery taken from satellite sensors, aerial cameras (including "Bird's Eye" aerial imagery taken at 45 degree angle view to show building façades and entrances) as well as 3D city models and terrain.
- Bluesky - AerialBluesky's products include high resolution aerial photography across the whole of the Republic of Ireland.
- Cambridge Air PhotosThe Cambridge University Collection of Aerial Photography (CUCAP) is the result of airborne survey campaigns which were started in 1947 by the pioneering JK St Joseph. Since then the collection has grown to almost 500,000 images of obliques and verticals in black and white, colour and infra-red. Some images for Ireland are included in this collection.
- Daphne Pochin Mould CollectionDr Daphne Pochin Mould's archive of oblique aerial photographs consists of many of thousands of images dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. Some of the photographs from this collection are now available online via the Muckross House Research Library.
- Dublin City Council Photographic CollectionCollections of digital images of buildings, events, places, people, etc
- Eason Photographic CollectionThis collection is held by the National Library of Ireland. Many of these postcard views of all of Ireland have been digitised. Cards were published under the imprint Signal.
- Flash EarthZoomable map of the Earth using satellite and aerial imagery from Microsoft and Yahoo.
- Geological Survey of Ireland - Aerial MapsThe Geological Survey of Ireland (GSI) Customer Centre has an important collection of aerial photographs of Ireland dating from 1973 - see link below: Completed over the course of five years these photographs were part of the first complete aerial photographic survey of the Republic of Ireland. The survey was flown at a height of 15,000 ft to give a nominal scale of 1:30,000 and the photos have a wide range of uses including archaeological research and research into land boundaries.
- Aerial Photography - Information Circular 81/1This booklet published by the Geological Survey of Ireland in 1981 gives an overview of the aerial photographic survey, described above, which was carried out during the years 1973 - 1977 inclusive.
- Google Earth aerial imagery3D overviews of major cities, mountains, and other terrain, as well as local businesses and information, driving directions, and maps. In Ireland, the overviews of Dublin and Cork cities are particularly good.
- Ireland Aerial PhotographyThis collection of Irish aerial images shows contemporary Ireland. All images displayed on this site are available for commercial and editorial licensing and have been digitally captured with current professional equipment.
- Leo Swan Aerial Photographic ArchiveThe archive project’s objective was to digitise Leo Swan’s aerial photographs dating circa 1970s / 1980s / 1990s and to provide access to the 6,500 images online.
- Military Archives Image DatabaseMilitary Archives hold approximately 40,000 digital images. Use the search box at top of page and type in aerial to find relevant photos.
- Morgan Aerial Photographic CollectionThese black & white aerial views of Ireland are held in the National Library of Ireland. They were taken during the mid-1950's by pilot Captain Morgan and provide a birds eye view of Ireland.
- National Collection of Aerial PhotographySimmons Aerofilms ( https://ncap.org.uk/Simmons-Aerofilms ) are hosted on the National Collection of Aerial Photography website. This set of 405 black & white aerial photographs for the Dublin / Meath area date from 1971.
From this gallery page which opens, you can search for a placename using the search box near the top of the screen. Or you can left click on the small image of the map of the world shown in the grey bar. This opens a map which displays the locations of the images. - Photographic Collection - National Folklore CollectionThe photographs in this collection reveal many aspects of Irish life and include images of the Irish countryside.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License