Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Archives, Libraries, Organisations
Find, access and purchase maps at UCD Library. Lists of map resources and suppliers on the web. Examples of map symbols and scales. Copyright and booking forms.
Archives, Libraries, Organisations
- Dublin City Library and Archives, Pearse StreetThe library houses a collection of maps of ancient and modern Dublin from the 17th century to the present day. From Speed's map of 1610 to Rocque's map of 1756, through to the Dublin City Development plans of today this collection traces the growth of the capital city. Maps of Ireland and the counties are also held.
- Geological Survey of Ireland - GOLDMINE databaseThis online application enables visitors to search the Geological Survey of Ireland online data archive database and download full-size resampled pdfs and/or original high resolution TIFF image files. The data consists of: Scanned Capture of 450,000 pages and maps, including all of GSI principal datasets, (Mineral Exploration Reports-Open File, Geotechnical Reports, boreholes & tests, Historic 6":1 mile and 1":1 mile Geological Maps, GSI Publications, Bulletins, Published and Unpublished Reports, Groundwater Well Hydrographs, Marine Maps, Airborne Geophysical Maps, Mineral Locality Reports and Mine Record Reports and Maps).
- Glucksman Map Library, Trinity College DublinIt holds over half a million maps and atlases making it the largest collection of printed maps in Ireland.
- National Archives of Ireland - Ordnance Survey CollectionThe archives consist of administrative records and maps, including those generated by the mapping of the country at the scale of six inches to the mile, town plans at various scales and 1-inch and 25-inch maps.
- National Library of Ireland - Digitised MapsMany maps are available in digital format. Enter a place name in the Search For box, choose Map from the Format options and under Limit To click the Digitised checkbox so that a tick appears. Lastly click on the Find button to run the search.
- National Library of Ireland - Maps Collectionhas a collection of approximately 150,000 maps. The collection is predominantly Irish but there are maps which relate to Britain, Europe and the world at large.
- Property Registration Authority (Land Registry)This site allows customers access to many Land Registry services including searching the Registry map and viewing documents (folios) which contain information relating to the title and ownership of 2.2 million registered properties. Search the map by street, townland, folio number or coordinate points.
- Valuation Office - ArchivesThe Valuation Office has a manuscript archive containing rateable valuation information of all property in the state from mid 1850s until the early 1990s. Facilities for members of the public undertaking genealogical research are provided to view current and archive rating records and maps.
- Valuation Office - Griffith's Valuation 1824-1856These records contain over 2 million names. They provide a comprehensive assessment of the rental value of Irish lands and property from the mid-1820s to the mid-1850s. The books reveal where and when individuals rented or owned property and provide glimpses of life in pre-famine Ireland.
- Ireland and Northern Ireland ShapefilesA free dataset from Geofabrik in ITM projection, which includes points, lines and polygons in vector format for roads, buildings, streets, rivers, points of interest, railways, waterways, etc.
- Northern Ireland TownlandsThe OSNI Large-scale boundaries is a polygon dataset consisting of the Townland boundaries.Townlands are an ancient method of land measurement found only in Ireland and can be very important in genealogical research. These small areas of land can vary in size from a few acres upwards.
- Spatial NI for INSPIRESpatial NI for INSPIRE provides access to a Northern Ireland's INSPIRE portal is a network of spatial data, available under the INSPIRE Regulations, that can be used to promote and support environmental protection.
- Place Names Northern IrelandThe boundaries for Parishes, Townlands, Baronies and Counties in Northern Ireland can all be viewed on the map.
- OSNI Open Data - 10m Digital Terrain Model Height DataA digital terrain model (DTM) is a digital file with a grid of regularly spaced points of known height.
- OSNI Open Data - 50m Digital Terrain ModelThis data is in CSV format. A Digital Terrain Model (DTM) is a digital file consisting of a grid of regularly spaced points of known height which, when used with other digital data such as maps or orthophotos,
can provide a 3D image of the land surface.
- OSNI Open Data - StreetmapsOSNI Street Maps show detailed information, including road names and one-way systems, railway lines, car parking, public buildings, churches and schools, for Northern Ireland’s main cities and towns.
- OSNI Open Data - 1:10,000 Raster - Mid Scale RasterA series of maps at 1:10 000 scale in raster format showing base mapping for Northern Ireland.
- OSNI Open Data - 50K Boundaries - NI OutlineMid scale vector polygon dataset of NI Outline, updated March 2020.
- NISRA Open Data Boundaries - Small Areas 2011The NISRA boundaries is a polygon dataset consisting of Small Areas set for the 2011 Census.
- Historical Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland (OSNI) mapsThis historical maps viewer can be used to search and browse seven historical OSNI maps and four modern basemaps, including aerial imagery. Maps available cover the six counties of present-day Northern Ireland: counties Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone.
The following map editions are available on the application:
o Edition 1 (1832 – 1846)
o Edition 2 (1846 – 1862)
o Edition 3 (1900 - 1907)
o Edition 4 (1905 - 1957)
o Edition 5 (1919 – 1963)
o 6” Irish Grid (1952-1969)
o 1:10,000 metric Irish Grid (1957-1986)
Scotland, England and Wales
- British Library - MapsThe British Library collection of maps, plans and views is one of the largest in the world, numbering some 4.5 million. To find a map, type the location followed by the word maps into the search box. For example, type Cork maps. When the results are listed, under Access Options on the left hand side of the page click on Online.
- The Charles Close SocietyThe Charles Close Society was founded in 1980 to bring together all those with an interest in the maps and history of the Ordnance Survey of Great Britain and its counterparts in the island of Ireland. A wealth of information including indexes, articles, map covers, links to OS maps, etc
- Land Register of ScotlandThe spatial vector polygons included in the dataset represent the current view of registered titles in the Land Register.
- Library Hub Discover - MapsThis catalogue searches a multitude of Library collections. Choose Maps from the Document Types option and type a place name into the Keywords box to search for a map.
- National Library of Scotland - Maps CollectionsOn this maps website you can view over 200,000 high resolution maps of Scotland and the world.
- National Library of Wales - Maps CollectionThe Library’s map collection contains over 1,000,000 sheets of maps, charts and plans as well as thousands of atlases.
- Natural Resources Wales - LiDAR Composite DatasetThe Natural Resources Wales composite dataset contains digital elevation data derived from surveys carried out over several years and covers approximately 70% of Wales.
- OS Data - Ordnance Survey UKOffers a range of completely free quality assured, regularly updated products that enables data analysis. In the Browse By Licence and Browse By Product search boxes choose Open Data to find free downloadable datasets.
- Boundary-Line - Ordnance Survey UKBoundary-Line contains every type of administrative area for England, Scotland and Wales
- Terrain 50 metres - Ordnance Survey UKA free to use topology GIS dataset, to help you visualise simple landscapes in 3D and bring your geographic analysis to life. Post spacing of 50m (DTM grid); Vertical interval of 10m (Contours)
- A Vision of Britain Through TimeThis website relates to data from 1801 to the present day. The historical viewer includes boundary, land and topographical maps.
- Vision of Britain - Boundary DataAccess to free county boundary data circa 1911 to early 1970s is available to download.
United States of America
- Library of Congress - Map CollectionsIn the search box next to the Maps filter, type in the location / place name to find available maps.
- Online Guide to U.S. Map CollectionsThis is is a directory of map collections, big and small, across the United States. It is an initiative of the Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT) of the American Library Association.
The objectives are:
• Crowd-sourced directory of U. S. map collections
• Searchable map interface so that collections can be easily located by their geographic location
• Searchable subject specialties by keyword
• Update information to collections, personnel and websites since publication of the 2006 Guide to U.S. Map Resources
• Provide information about the collection and retention of government-produced maps by institutions participating in the Federal Depository Library Program
• Promote map collections and the use of cartographic materials
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionThe Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection in the University of Texas at Austin is a general collection of maps covering all areas of the world. 70,000 map images from the collection are also available online. Links to a multitude of other map websites and maps are listed by geographical area, theme, etc.
- United States Geological Survey - The National MapThe National Map is a suite of products and services that provide access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories. The National Map embodies 11 primary products and services and numerous applications and ancillary services.
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License