Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Maps by Theme - Admin to Wind

A map showing the outlines of the 1855 – 1918 Constituency boundaries can be found on page 401 of Parliamentary Elections in Ireland, 1801-1922 (Dublin, 1978) by Brian Walker. This forms the basis for the creation of a set of digital boundaries which can then be used in a GIS.The map is available in both ESRI Shapefile format and as a GeoPackage (GPKG).

Revised to December 1961. Published at scale 1 inch to 4 statute miles (1:250,000). Shows the boundaries of Dispensary Districts and District Electoral Divisions in County Boroughs, Boroughs, Municipal Boroughs and Urban Districts of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Revised to December 1961. Published at scale 1 inch to 4 statute miles (1:250,000). Shows the boundaries of Dispensary Districts and District Electoral Divisions in County Boroughs, Boroughs, Municipal Boroughs and Urban Districts of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Revised to December 1961. Published at scale 1 inch to 4 statute miles (1:250,000). Shows the boundaries of Dispensary Districts and District Electoral Divisions in County Boroughs, Boroughs, Municipal Boroughs and Urban Districts of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Revised to December 1961. Published at scale 1 inch to 4 statute miles (1:250,000). Shows the boundaries of Dispensary Districts and District Electoral Divisions in County Boroughs, Boroughs, Municipal Boroughs and Urban Districts of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Click on a county for details of its parishes.

The recommended Dail Constituency Boundaries for Ireland are shown on this map.

Recommended Dail Constituency Boundaries for Dublin City are shown on this map.

Recommended Dail Constituency Boundaries for Dublin City and Dublin County are shown on this map.

This 2012 report by the Constituency Commission includes constituency maps for the following: Cavan, Cork area, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Kildare area, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick area, Mayo, Monaghan area, Offaly, Roscommon area, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford.

Available with reports on the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage website: https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/3d721-constituency-maps-current/#

Map to illustrate the Dáil Constituencies of Ireland as specified in the Electoral (Amendment) (Dáil Constituencies) Act 2017. Full report is here: https://www.constituency-commission.ie/docs/Constituency%20Commission%20Report%202017.pdf

A plain map of Ireland with the county boundaries, provinces and Northern Ireland border shown.

An interactive map which shows the population of all electoral divisions in Dublin by census years 2006, 2011 and 2016. Use the slider to change year you are viewing and the icons on the left to view categories of information.

Published by L.J. Richards & Company of Philadelphia, the Memorial Atlas of Ireland presents in clear detail the boundaries of each barony and civil parish in the country, county by county.

Produced and published by Geographia, London. Shows the Dublin City boundary.

Produced and published by Geographia, London. Shows the Dublin City boundary and the ward boundaries.

Published at a scale ca.I:I,650,000, London 1868. "Shewing all the counties, divisions of counties parliamentary boroughs & universities with the alterations & additions according to the "Representations of the People Acts, 1867-8" and the number of members for each constituency"

Here on Logainm's website townlands are listed within county. Click on the county name to see the markers for the townlands on the map. Click on the marker to see the area of the townland shown on the map.

This 1776 survey was created by Murdoch MacKenzie and consists of charts of the coast of Ireland.

Surveyed by J H Kerr, 1874. Major corrections made 1890, further minor corrections made 1897. Map also shows Dun Laoghaire (Kingstown Harbour)

The National Maritime Museum collections include sea charts, maps, photographs and paintings dating from the medieval period to the present day. There are many hundred items relating to Ireland and a selection are available to view online.

Over 3,500 charts with coverage appropriate for navigation of deep sea, coastal passages, port approaches and harbour berthing including Irish waters.
Large-scale charts for main ports and harbours, medium scale charts for coastal navigation and small-scale charts for offshore navigation.

Choose the Clean Air & Health menu and view the options provided on the map of Ireland.

The link opens the historic environment website where archaeological sites and monuments can be viewed online. The Archaeological Survey of Ireland (ASI) is a unit within the National Monuments Service. See further details here: https://www.archaeology.ie/archaeological-survey-ireland. Additionally PDFs of each county map with monuments circled and numbered accompanied by a manual specifying the monument type are available to download at: https://www.archaeology.ie/publications-forms-legislation/record-of-monuments-and-places

This website viewer allows you to look at a wide range of built and natural heritage datasets. This guide lists the many archaeological resources available to view: http://heritagemaps.ie/documents/HomePage/GuideToDatasetsInHeritageMaps.pdf

This Geological Survey of Ireland website page also provides information on bedrock in Ireland and includes a link to download the bedrock map at scale of 1:100,000 : https://www.gsi.ie/en-ie/geoscience-topics/geology/Pages/Geology-of-Ireland.aspx

Biodiversity Maps is a national portal that maps Ireland's wildlife - both fauna and flora. Biodiversity data is compiled from multiple sources and made freely available on-line.

This website from the National Parks & Wildlife Service includes a map viewer to show Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs), Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), and Special Protection Areas (SPAs)

These are available on Bord Na Mona's website. To find a map you start by Clicking on Filter by Province to open the drop-down menu and then click on the Province of your choice.

Map created by Geological Survey of Ireland and Ordnance Survey Ireland. Published 1920.
Information about the map in the catalogue:
https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990125218840203941/catalog

The online mapping, inventorying and recording of the Army Barracks of Ireland, 1690-1921.

A database of landed estates and historic houses in Connacht, Munster and the counties of Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan, c. 1700 – 1914. Search by A-Z lists of Estate Names, Family Names or House Names.

This collection contains a hundred and ten architectural and site plans for grammar schools funded by the Erasmus Smith Schools educational charity. These plans relate to Erasmus Smith High School, Dublin (operating from 1870-present), Drogheda Grammar School (operating from 1679-1938); Galway Grammar School (operating from 1678-1958); Tipperary Grammar School known as The Abbey School (operating from c.1676–c.1920), and Ennis Grammar School (operating from 1777-1891).

Historical maps from the Dublin Port Company for the harbours at Balbriggan, Bullock, Coliemore, Dun Laoghaire, Howth, Sandycove and Skerries.

This website viewer allows you to look at a wide range of built and natural heritage datasets. This guide lists the many architectural resources available to view: http://heritagemaps.ie/documents/HomePage/GuideToDatasetsInHeritageMaps.pdf

For over a decade, Joseph Lennon has been compiling a comprehensive archive of images documenting the castles and tower houses of Limerick. Many of the entries Include map images of the castles.

The Maps, Plans and Drawings collection of Military Barracks and Posts in Ireland (MPD Collection) comprises architectural maps, plans and drawings of military installations throughout the island of Ireland and includes barracks, posts, camps, forts and castles.

Search for post-1700 buildings, structures, gardens using the search form or the map. Each record includes a description, photograph(s), date / date range of construction, etc. To download data go to the Resources tab.

Maps from The Dublin civic survey report / Prepared by Horace T. O'Rourke, & the Dublin Civic Survey Committee for the Civics Institute of Ireland, 1925.

By Patrick Abercrombie, Sydney Kelly & Arthur Kelly.
This was the winning proposal in The Dublin Town Planning Competition which was held in 1914.

Original typescript of C.R. Ashbee's highly recommended entry in the Dublin Town Planning Competition of 1914, which was won by Patrick Abercrombie.

Website of The Irish Meteorological Service - Met Éireann with climate statistics and maps for Ireland, including wind directions, rainfall, sunshine, temperature, 30 year averages.

General information on the formulation of development plans from the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage.

My Plan shows land use zonings from statutory development plans and planning application data sourced from the 31 individual local authorities across Ireland.

In 1854 the physician Dr John Snow mapped cases of cholera to show where the outbreaks occured. This led him to identify a pump in Broad Street, London as being the source of contaminated water. Deaths were represented by individual bars on the map.

Article by Howard Brody, Michael Russell Rip, Peter Vinten-Johansen, Nigel Paneth, Stephen Rachman. Published in The Lancet, 2000.

View environmental maps which show air quality, water quality, soils and land cover in Ireland. Created by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

This website from the National Parks & Wildlife Service includes a map viewer to show Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs), Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), and Special Protection Areas (SPAs)

OPWs national flood information portal, providing location specific access to flood risk and flood management information.

Displays a range of historical geological maps, sections and memoirs of the island of Ireland, mostly from the 19th century. Includes a set of full colour 1:63,360 geological maps and a map index for locating the map you require.

Includes a wide range of datasets from bedrock, quaternary, groundwater, marine, geological heritage, to geotechnical, minerals, geophysics, geochemistry and geohazards.

This online application enables visitors to search the Geological Survey of Ireland online data archive database and download full-size resampled pdfs and/or original high resolution TIFF image files. The data consists of: Scanned Capture of 450,000 pages and maps, including all of GSI principal datasets, (Mineral Exploration Reports-Open File, Geotechnical Reports, boreholes & tests, Historic 6":1 mile and 1":1 mile Geological Maps, GSI Publications, Bulletins, Published and Unpublished Reports, Groundwater Well Hydrographs, Marine Maps, Airborne Geophysical Maps, Mineral Locality Reports and Mine Record Reports and Maps).

Collection of geological mapping products relating to the USA.

This map was created to help identify the best locations of geothermal energy available in Ireland.

This has been created by the Geological Survey of Ireland and contains maps with groundwater, bedrock and aquifier data for the Republic of Ireland.

The GHO map gallery includes an extensive list of maps on major health topics.

Click on the tab Land & Soil. This map shows the national landcover of Ireland as part of the pan-European CORINE data series which is under the COPERNICUS Land Monitoring service.

Interactive map showing lighthouse locations, including a photograph and history of the structure.

INFOMAR is a DECC funded joint programme between the Geological Survey Ireland and the Marine Institute, surveying our unmapped marine territory and creating a range of integrated mapping products of the physical, chemical and biological features of the seabed. Maps include bathymetry (the measurement of depth of water in oceans, seas, or lakes), shipwrecks, sediment and shaded relief.

Ireland’s Marine Atlas is developed and maintained by the Marine Institute with funding by the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government. The atlas provides a one-stop-shop to view and download datasets for aquaculture sites, buoys, fishing grounds, offshore energy sites, lighthouses, ports and harbours, marinas, blue flag beaches, marine mammal species, national and international maritime limits, maritime boundary continental shelf, wave heights and wave power data, etc

The online mapping, inventorying and recording of the Army Barracks of Ireland, 1690-1921.

This dataset consists of two GIS maps of the British Army brigade and divisional districts across the island of Ireland circa 1920-21.

This map shows the extent of British Army regimental recruiting areas on the island of Ireland. This map is a reproduction of a recruitment poster released by the British authorities circa 1914-1915.

The Maps, Plans and Drawings collection of Military Barracks and Posts in Ireland (MPD Collection) comprises architectural maps, plans and drawings of military installations throughout the island of Ireland and includes barracks, posts, camps, forts and castles.

View either a map of the Earth showing the day and night regions at this moment, or view the Earth from the Sun, the Moon, the night side of the Earth, above any location on the planet specified by latitude, longitude and altitude, from a satellite in Earth orbit, or above various cities around the globe.

Interactive globes from the David Rumsey Map collection.

The interactive globes of planet earth range in date from the 15th to the 20th century.

Key air quality statistics for the main air pollutants visualised on a map. Content from the European Environment Agency.

The population of all electoral divisions in the County Dublin by census years 2006, 2011, 2016 and 2022.

Here on the EPA website you can see a map showing the areas predicted to be at particular risk from radon. High Radon Areas are in red ; Medium risk areas are in Orange and Low risk are in Yellow.

This publication from Public Health England the the British Geological Survey presents the first radon probability map at a resolution of 1-km squares of the Irish Grid.

This website has an interactive map which radon data is displayed on for Northern Ireland.

Published 1837 by the Irish Railway Commission. Maps engraved by Richard Cartwright.

1838. This atlas contains: Map of Ireland to accompany 2d report of the Railway Commissioners showing the varieties of shading and densities of population. -Map of Ireland to accompany 2d report of the Railway Commissioners showing the relative quantities of traffic in different directions. -Map of Ireland to accompany 2d report of the Railway Commissioners showing the relative number of passengers in different directions bt regular public conveyances. -Geological map of Ireland to accompany 2d report of the Railway Commissioners 1837 showing the different lines laid down under the direction of the Commissioners and those proposed by joint stock companies.

Published 1840s. Engraved by Sidney Hall.

Published 1872. In full color. Railways shown in red; railways under construction shown with dotted red lines.

Published 1881. By G. Phillips Bevan

Published 1883 by Letts, Son & Co.

Published 1897 by Railway Clearing House, London

Railway lines shown for the whole island of Ireland. Published by the Railway Clearing House, London at a scale of 1 inch to 7.5 miles.

[1957] Shows C.I.E. train and bus routes, local air and shipping routes. Scale 1:1,700,000

This online open-source resource shows all of Ireland’s rail network past and present. Users can explore the historical rail lines across the island of Ireland. The digital map was created by students from Atlantic Technological University - Galway City (ATU Galway City) with the support of Iarnród Éireann and the HeritageMaps platform. Further information about the project can be read here: https://www.atu.ie/news/irelands-historical-rail-network-mapped-in-new-online-resource-with-atu-and-heritagemapsie

The County Donegal Railway and the Londonderry & Lough Swilly Railway, with a total of 225 miles of track, formed the largest narrow gauge railway system in north-west Europe. Plans and maps collated and annotated by Chris Amundson showing County Donegal railway stations including Glenties, Killybegs, Donegal Town, Letterkenny and Stranorlar. Also includes the Derry-Londonderry Railway Evolution Guide and Strabane railway station plans. The originals are available to view in the Donegal Railway Heritage Museum, see: http://donegalrailway.com/

Photographs, maps and history relating to the Killiney / Ballybrack section of the Dublin to Wicklow Railway line.

This ArcGIS StoryMap tells the story of significant soil mapping campaigns in Ireland which have been undertaken since the late 1950s.

EPA viewer where you can see subsoils, Corine 2018 data and national soil data.

The General Soil Map of Ireland and National Peatland map as well as soil maps for many individual counties are available on this website.

Digital Soil Map of the World available for download from FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN).

The map was printed in 1892 by the Dublin, Glendalough and Kildare Diocesan Association of the Temperance Society. The red dots represent public houses (pubs). The title which appears on the map is: MAP SHOWING DUBLIN’S GREATEST EVIL (PUBLIC HOUSES). Original map held in Guinness Archives.

Based on data in OpenStreetMap, this website lists all of the counties on the island of Ireland. Click on each county to see baronies, civil parishes and townlands in the respective county.

Here on Logainm's website townlands are listed within county. Click on the county name to see the markers for the townlands on the map. Click on the marker to see the area of the townland shown on the map.