Collection Services, UCD Library: Introduction
What is in this Guide?
This guide provides information on the collection services UCD Library offers to academics, researchers, and undergraduates, including ordering books, journal subscriptions, inter-library loans, etc.
What is the Collection Services Unit?
The Collections Services Unit is responsible for the management of all material published after 1930 held in UCD Library. This includes:
- Collection development, or the selection and acquisition of both print and online materials;
- Cataloguing of print and electronic resources to ensure ease of access;
- Decision making on the retention and disposal of materials in our collection.
- Managing and maximising the library’s resources budget
- Participation in relevant national bodies and consortia, i.e. IReL (Irish Research Electronic Library)
Collections Services staff are responsible for selecting, ordering, and processing Library materials at every stage of their lifecycle. We will work with you to help you make the best use of the Library's existing resources and to select the most appropriate collections for your teaching, learning and research needs.
The Collections Services Unit does not look after UCD's special or archival collections. Any queries relating to Special Collections, the National Folklore Archive, or UCD Archives should be directed to the relevant department.
Other Related Guides Available
Book Care Campaign
by Josh Clark Last Updated Aug 2, 2019 45 views this year
Celtic Tiger Collection
by Catherine Ryan Last Updated Aug 2, 2019 51 views this year
Collection Services, UCD Library
by Catherine Ryan Last Updated Jun 23, 2020 3409 views this year
Collections Curation Project, UCD Library
by Collection Services Last Updated Oct 11, 2019 167 views this year
Development Studies Collection
by Catherine Ryan Last Updated Aug 27, 2019 21 views this year
Health & Wellbeing Collection
by Marta Bustillo Last Updated Apr 9, 2020 920 views this year
Life Skills Collection
by Marta Bustillo Last Updated Aug 27, 2019 60 views this year
Map Collections at UCD and on the Web
by Jane Nolan Last Updated Jun 30, 2020 37237 views this year
Newspapers at UCD and on the Web
by Catherine Ryan Last Updated Oct 14, 2019 831 views this year
Official Publications & the European Documentation Centre (EDC)
by Catherine Ryan Last Updated Aug 27, 2019 51 views this year
Open Access Publishing Agreements
by Josh Clark Last Updated May 27, 2020 612 views this year
by Catherine Ryan Last Updated Aug 27, 2019 87 views this year
Standards and Patents
by James Molloy Last Updated Apr 29, 2020 451 views this year
Study Skills Collection
by Gerard Walsh Last Updated Jan 22, 2020 614 views this year
by Christine Cullen Last Updated Aug 27, 2019 3447 views this year
UCD Library Collection Spotlight
by Josh Clark Last Updated Jun 30, 2020 1438 views this year
- Last Updated: Jun 23, 2020 10:49 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/collection_services
- Print Page